General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Absolutely delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
What an awesome recipe! The crunch of the chicken along with the sweet heat of the sauce just made it taste perfect. I also appreciate that this recipes seems to hold up to a variety of tweaking. You can suit your own taste buds with more or less heat, sweet, crunch, fried or baked, with veggies or not, citrus, garlic, ginger, peanutbutter or oil, sesame or no .... Lots of flexibility! A big thanks to Chef Daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made this with boneless, skinless as other reviewers did. It was okay. I wasn't blown away by it. It certainly passes as a respectable weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
We give it 4.5 stars. It did take a long time to prepare with the steps involved...frying batches of chicken and then refrying. Because I didn't anticipate the length of time to prepare this dish, our dinner was very late. I don't like eating such a heavy meal and then going to bed soon afterwards. So, plan ahead...this dish takes longer to prepare than the time listed. Overall, it was good. I found the full cup of cornstarch to be a bit much...however, I don't know what the result would be if you reduced it. The pieces of chicken were crispy...even the next day after sitting in the sauce overnight. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as it is written. So f-ing good! Served it with white rice, my fam. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It's really easy and taste great. I have to eat gluten free and this was easy to sub out gluten free soy sauce and cornstarch and using gluten free flour on the chicken and it was awesome. It's hard to eat out Asian food, so when I can make something at home that taste great, it's exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good, but I modify a bit. First off I follow the breading recipe for this recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/springfield-style-cashew-chicken-i/detail.aspx only because it's what I use for the Springfield Style Cashew Chicken, and I LOVE it!(if you like cashew chicken, you must try this link for the recipe) I've also done just cooked chicken breast, no breading for a healthier version. I do a little less sugar also, only because I find it a bit too sweet for me. My family love the recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! So full of flavor!! It's just like Chinese take-out. I doubled the sauce, and made a few substitutions for things I had on hand. For the double recipe I added 1t. onion powder for the green onions, 1t. chili powder for the red chilies, and 2T. creamy peanut butter for the peanut oil. Next time I make it I'll plan ahead & buy the real ingredients because I'm sure it will only improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Easy and authentic. I used hot pepper flakes instead of whole peppers which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Notes for next time: A lot of work. Try mixing sauce ingredients early if necessary. Try subbing orange juice for orange zest. Double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States