General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I made this recipe and only changed it by doubling the sauce and adding orange zest when the sauce finished. I went to the restaurant known for this dish and felt terrible paying for something I was sure I could make better at home. Thanks to this recipe I was right. It says it serves six but there are four in my family and there are no leftovers. This 're pie is perfect. I feel that to keep the integrity of the recipe the chicken should definitely be double fried. You could get away with a single fry though. Just make the sauce while frying the chicken so both are done at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe was GREAT ! We love Chinese food and this was just like our favorite restaurant without the tip ! I will definitely make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe as is - fantastic. Even better the next day after the sauce thickened and flavour heightened. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
first off.. me and bf don't know what "authentic" gen. tsao chicken tastes like.. but we do know we really enjoyed this dish.. i made this bc bf was craving something sweet and savory.. i forgot to buy an orange while at the store so i used a sweet lime's peel.. it didn't seem to add anything though :(.. i was worried about it being too sweet so i only added 1/4 cup of sugar.. big mistake.. i dissolved the lacking 1/4 cup of sugar in some water and then incorporated it into the final dish.. almost had a disaster b/c i added too much cornstarch.. luckily the sugar water helped thin it out.. didn't want bf to take the time to clean out the deep fryer so i used sauteed breast meat.. ty for this yummy sweet-heat recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good...I did not have the peppers on hand, but used a bit of ground red pepper and it was great. I'll add crushed red pepper to some next time, but hesitated in case my kids would think it too spicy. I also grated the peel to give it a little more orange flavor. I cut a little of the sugar, and might cut back a little more next time, along with a little less soy (personal preference on both), but this is a keeper...better than most restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow!! Amazing. I did not have the chilies and green onions on hand, but the flavor was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I tried this last night, followed recipe exactly with one change(Doesn't affect the taste of the sauce). I used Tempura instead of cornstarch for the breading on the chicken. This dish had a good overall chinese flavor but tasted nothing like General Tso's. The Tempura chicken was the best part. I will not make this again and continue my search for a authentic General Tso's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtraceyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Need to do the sauce 4 times with 3 pounds of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Living in Holland for over 20 years, one of the things I missed most was the Chinese take-out, General Tsaos was one of the favorites. Yes its alot of work, but well worth it! I used just a bit more citrus then the recipe calls for and added OJ. Hit the mark, no homesickness anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I didn't have the red chilies so I used sriracha sauce and it wasn't quite spicy enough. This is a very tasty sauce though and I won't forget the chilies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States