General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was the first time we cooked a chinese recipe that actually tasted like what you get at a restaurant. I would have liked the sauce to be a bit clingier so will cook it longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I couldn't find an orange to zest here in central ohio in the middle of july, so i halved the sugar in the sauce and added a couple tablespoons of orange marmalade. Still too sweet for me. Next time i think I'll just add a couple tablespoons of sugar and the same amount of marmalade. All in all, a very good recipe. Just for kicks and grins, i added a dash of cinnamon in with the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
this recipe is amazing. the only thing i changed was i doubled the sauce recipe but cut the soy sauce in half because it comes out so salty if i dont. love this recipe so much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is the closest of anything thing I've ever had to General Tsao's chicken from my favorite resturant. It may be a little time consuming but it's sooo worth the effort. This is the second time I've made it and the family can't get enough. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
THIS IS IT!! No better recipe for General Tsao's on the Internet, in the Chinese Restaurant, anywhere! I can't believe how good this was. I steamed broccoli florets and carrots an tossed in the sauce. It is soooo good- Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
fabulous!! it tasted sooooo much like the real thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pooh16
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was really really good. I like extra sauce so I doubled the sauce ingredients with the exception of the red peppers. I used 9 Chile de arbol dry red pepper instead of 12 and removed the seeds because I was worried it would be to hot for my 3yr old & 7yr old. It was great. It had a small amount of spicy to it but nothing that bothered my picky eaters. They actually enjoyed it. If you like spice I would recommend using at least the number of peppers this recipe calls for and if your doubling the sauce too also double the peppers. I'm still not sure if your suppose to remove the seeds though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdodd
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
The sauce made as written is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. The only thing is the cook time to thicken the sauce was slightly off. Once you add the chicken back into the sauce I'd recommend tossing the timer aside and watching it closely until it thickens to your liking. For me it was more like 5 minutes over about medium/high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! We have made it many times and it is easy quick and restaurant quality every time. I substituted plain flour for the corn starch, I always do this when I am cooking asian and etc. recipes, it is just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa “Sweettea” Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States