General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Clifford_Dean
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
EXCELLENT DELICIOUS and AMAZING! We chose to bake the chicken with the sriracha, soy and fresh garlic marinade (as RDean suggested) ... added a few fresh vegetables and followed the rest of the recipe!! Way better than my fav Chinese restaraunt down the street!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Amazing! Did not change a thing, it was quick and easy and now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This meal is so full of flavor! I make this for my husband and I and it makes for great left overs for lunch the next day as well. We keep this on the regular menu! The oyster sauce is a must so don't leave that out! We use a little Sriracha sauce (rooster sauce) cause we like things to be spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was OK (mu hubby liked it) but it is NOT like the General Tao's that we get at our favorite Asian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Close but not it at all. The ketchup gave it a weird taste. I liked the batter for the chicken. It came out real good, but I will look for another sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Does not taste like what I get from restaurants. Tastes good but not like General Tao Chicken. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this last night for my husband I added some ground red pepper for heat in the sauce very close to resturant quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very bready. I don't know which restaurant this recipe is supposed to resemble, but I wouldn't want to eat there. And what do you get when you put ketchup in a General Tao chicken recipe? A recipe that tastes like it has ketchup in it. Should you like to find a recipe that's much closer to what a good General Tao should be, look for one that uses corn or potato flour and less egg. The recipe should also use tomato paste and molasses. Definitely not ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Made this last night, made some changes and it was excellent. 1. Changed the Ketchup, Ketchup should not be in Chinese food;) I replaced it with a combination of sweet Thai chili sauce and chili sauce 2. Lowered vinegar a bit The chicken is perfect however I used a deep frier (what?? I bought one and never use it! I have to justify the expense to my wife any chance I get). I still think the sauce could use some tweaking it wasnt tangy enough, it was definitely hot enough. Overall, I will definitely make again, this is an excellent recipe for a base to expand on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I could not believe I made this!! It tasted so good. I served it with white rice. The only thing I did a little different was I put in seafood stock, I found at kroger, I could not find the sauce. Took the left overs to work the next day tasted just as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States