General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Made this last night, made some changes and it was excellent. 1. Changed the Ketchup, Ketchup should not be in Chinese food;) I replaced it with a combination of sweet Thai chili sauce and chili sauce 2. Lowered vinegar a bit The chicken is perfect however I used a deep frier (what?? I bought one and never use it! I have to justify the expense to my wife any chance I get). I still think the sauce could use some tweaking it wasnt tangy enough, it was definitely hot enough. Overall, I will definitely make again, this is an excellent recipe for a base to expand on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I could not believe I made this!! It tasted so good. I served it with white rice. The only thing I did a little different was I put in seafood stock, I found at kroger, I could not find the sauce. Took the left overs to work the next day tasted just as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It might not be exactly like general tso chicken, but it is deliscious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe really is awesome! I did tweak it as RDean suggested. Everyone loved it! Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My family loved it. However, I did have to double the sauce part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
What a surprise when I started to read your recipe... It remembered me of a recipe I saw on a grocery store website: IGA. I did the research and found out you almost did no change to that recipe: you doubled almost every ingredients (except for the vinegar, and you added sugar) I did the IGA recipe for numerous time and as other said, I also had difficulties with the chicken batter that wasn't crispy enough, and effectively, the sauce has and odd after taste... I was looking for another recipe than this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We enjoyed it but the ginger was too strong for my hubby and for me, I wish the breading could have been a bit more crispy. I added white rice and overall with a little more sugar and deep frying the chicken, this is a definite in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveSerrano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was fantastic! I had a bit of a problem with cooking the chicken in the pan, so I put it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 13 minutes. Another reviewer (RDean) suggested marinating the chicken and then baking it, but I really found the coating to be delicious (I used a teaspoon and a half of cavender's seasoning instead of plain salt and pepper). Next time, I might marinate it before coating it, and then bake it. I also followed the same review suggesting extra soy sauce, adding sherry and garlic, and using a little less ketchup and vinegar.It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great! Not too spicy for the kids. Will be added to my chicken rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States