General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed it as best as I could with what I had in the house and had a wonderful surprise for my husband who loves General Tao chicken. It's a long process so it will have to be saved for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've made this serveral times and it's fantastic. Regardless if you make the chicken breaded or not, it's still fantastic. I serve it over a white rice, quinoa blend and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good. I didn't have corn starch so used corn flour and it still turned out well. Didn't have oyster sauce so didn't use it, and decreased vinegar to one tablespoon, ketchup to one tablespoon, and grated ginger to half a tablespoon. Increased soy sauce to half a cup. Didn't have sesame oil so used chili oil. I imagine the original recipe is probably better, but this was delicious even with all the omissions! BTW - it was great not to have to deep fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Best General Chicken I've had! I didn't have an orange to zest, so I used a splash or Orange Juice. Also, I could not find the chili peppers, so I used Chinese Hot Sauce. I ate it so fast I didn't take a picture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious! My husband loved it. I also brought it to a potluck and it was gone in seconds. I can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My boys absolutely love this recipe!! I let my neighbor's try some the first time I made it, (they don't cook much) and ever since then I make extra to bring over to them, they liked it so much!! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Rowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was the best recipe!!! My whole family loved it. Wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I read RDeans review and therefore added garlic - was very careful with the ketchup. I loved it and my husband was crazy over it. I followed the recipe but I didn't measure and it turned out awesome anyway. It isn't that it's a hard recipe just lots of ingredients. I think this would be good with shrimp too. Thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was quite ambitious for me to take on alone; definitely a two-man job, especially for clean-up. Regardless, this recipe came out great after following RDean's suggestions of limiting the vinegar and ketchup (I used rice vinegar), and adding chiles (I used lots of chili paste to add needed flavor). After burning my arm and face with hot oil I decided to bake the rest of my chicken. I was concerned the breading would not bake well, but it actually did. It wasn't the best breading, and it fell off the chicken some, but it was General Tso Chicken for sure. Overall, not worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States