General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
this turned out just perfect. I had to use ground ginger, but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love it!! It may be a little too sweet for some people. We might use a little less sugar and add some red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have been tried lot of receipes this is the best make sure put all ingredient only thing missing I love spicy so I put red pepper powder ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Not any kind of good imitation of any General Tso (not Tao) Chicken I have ever had. I took the recommendation of a poster and baked, not fried, the chicken. And got anemic looking chicken. The coating is just wrong. General Tso needs cornmeal and Panko, or it's just wrong. It wasn't a mild version; it was basically bland. So this combination of anemic, lack of crunchy outside (and tender inside), with bland, not even mentioning the lack of vegetables in this recipe, makes it a poor imitation of the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flaaavadaaave
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It was alright. Intense flavour, but wasn't a big fan of the flavour. I used about half the sugar because half a cup seems like way too much considering ketchup is basically just sugar as well. Also it tasted a bit too much like the oyster sauce I think. It wasn't very crispy either but I expected that. We thought to bake it a bit at the end to try to make it crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This turned out delicious! I forgot the flour and the baking soda...it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed it as best as I could with what I had in the house and had a wonderful surprise for my husband who loves General Tao chicken. It's a long process so it will have to be saved for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've made this serveral times and it's fantastic. Regardless if you make the chicken breaded or not, it's still fantastic. I serve it over a white rice, quinoa blend and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good. I didn't have corn starch so used corn flour and it still turned out well. Didn't have oyster sauce so didn't use it, and decreased vinegar to one tablespoon, ketchup to one tablespoon, and grated ginger to half a tablespoon. Increased soy sauce to half a cup. Didn't have sesame oil so used chili oil. I imagine the original recipe is probably better, but this was delicious even with all the omissions! BTW - it was great not to have to deep fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States