General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made exactly as written but doubled the sauce recipe since I had close to almost 3 pounds of chicken. I was able to get a knob of fresh ginger at my local supermarket for 10 cents and used all I bought. Tastes exactly like the local Chinese would make. I wouldnt change a thing. My wok had hard time handling all the chicken, so maybe next time I would do it in batches to make it crispier. The batter was very very thick, too thick to dump 3 pounds of chicken in, so I added a little water to make it a little thinner like waffle batter. Made it over white rice with fresh string beans. Had plenty left over for a second meal and tastes even better the next day. Excellent recipe, this will go into the regular rotation. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is really good! In fact, cooking the chicken in the cornstarch/flour/egg/baking powder mixture is the closest thing I have tried yet to restaurant style Chinese food. The reason I gave it four stars is that there is no heat in the recipe. I think next time I will add some red pepper flakes to see if that helps. It wasn't bland - in fact the ginger and onion flavor it nicely - but it is not spicy the way that General Tsao chicken usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This came out wonderfully! I followed everything as listed except left out the green onions and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any in the house. My husband and I both loved it. I will definitely add some crushed red pepper in the future to spice it up a bit, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Re: the batter...I ended up with a crispy shell that encased a thin layer of scrambled egg. I followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Oh My Gosh! I love this recipe. I followed RDean's ideas and changed things like him/her. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli and 1can of sliced waterchestnuts. RDean said to use 2tbs of crushed red peppers. I used just one tbs and I think I will cut it back to 1/2. If you can't find RDean, here are the changes that he/she made. 1 tbs ground ginger.(I used 2Tbs) 3 tbs of distilled white vinegar. 1/4 cup of soy sauce. 2tbs of Ketchup. Added 2 cloves garlic. I am going to make some changes the next time I make it. I'm going to try it without any of the breading. I hope that will make it more saucy and not so thick. I didn't mind how thick it was, just prefer more sauce and less breading. I feel the fresh ginger and the oyster sauce are the key to this recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The sauce is great with a few adjustments. I add a teaspoon of minced garlic and a dozen dried chilies with the tips cut off. I also pass on the ketchup. I don't use his recipe for the chicken. I don't have any deep skillets that can accommodate all the chicken at one time, plus I'm not too big on cooking with oil because it sets my smoke alarm off. Instead I make bite size pieces of "Famous Butter Chicken" (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Famous-Butter-Chicken/Detail.aspx). Besides being easier, I prefer the taste and texture of it too. This is a great sauce recipe, that can easily be adjusted to one's personal taste or idea of what General Tao's chicken should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
It was my first Asian dish cooked (besides stir-fry). It was good, but needed a good bit of rice to tone down the sweetness. It was almost sickly sweet, but the overall flavors are wonderful. Will try again. I followed the recipe exactly but will find a way to cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Not crazy about the oyster sauce. Not what I thought it would taste like. Sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome! Tastes just like the restaurant. I took the advice of another reviewer and cut back on the ketchup and vinegar and added more soy sauce. I also added 1 Tbsp of crushed red pepper, because we prefer spicy dishes. I served it with "Restaurant Style Fried Rice", also from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States