General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made exactly as written but doubled the sauce recipe since I had close to almost 3 pounds of chicken. I was able to get a knob of fresh ginger at my local supermarket for 10 cents and used all I bought. Tastes exactly like the local Chinese would make. I wouldnt change a thing. My wok had hard time handling all the chicken, so maybe next time I would do it in batches to make it crispier. The batter was very very thick, too thick to dump 3 pounds of chicken in, so I added a little water to make it a little thinner like waffle batter. Made it over white rice with fresh string beans. Had plenty left over for a second meal and tastes even better the next day. Excellent recipe, this will go into the regular rotation. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is really good! In fact, cooking the chicken in the cornstarch/flour/egg/baking powder mixture is the closest thing I have tried yet to restaurant style Chinese food. The reason I gave it four stars is that there is no heat in the recipe. I think next time I will add some red pepper flakes to see if that helps. It wasn't bland - in fact the ginger and onion flavor it nicely - but it is not spicy the way that General Tsao chicken usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This came out wonderfully! I followed everything as listed except left out the green onions and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any in the house. My husband and I both loved it. I will definitely add some crushed red pepper in the future to spice it up a bit, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Re: the batter...I ended up with a crispy shell that encased a thin layer of scrambled egg. I followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Oh My Gosh! I love this recipe. I followed RDean's ideas and changed things like him/her. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli and 1can of sliced waterchestnuts. RDean said to use 2tbs of crushed red peppers. I used just one tbs and I think I will cut it back to 1/2. If you can't find RDean, here are the changes that he/she made. 1 tbs ground ginger.(I used 2Tbs) 3 tbs of distilled white vinegar. 1/4 cup of soy sauce. 2tbs of Ketchup. Added 2 cloves garlic. I am going to make some changes the next time I make it. I'm going to try it without any of the breading. I hope that will make it more saucy and not so thick. I didn't mind how thick it was, just prefer more sauce and less breading. I feel the fresh ginger and the oyster sauce are the key to this recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The sauce is great with a few adjustments. I add a teaspoon of minced garlic and a dozen dried chilies with the tips cut off. I also pass on the ketchup. I don't use his recipe for the chicken. I don't have any deep skillets that can accommodate all the chicken at one time, plus I'm not too big on cooking with oil because it sets my smoke alarm off. Instead I make bite size pieces of "Famous Butter Chicken" (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Famous-Butter-Chicken/Detail.aspx). Besides being easier, I prefer the taste and texture of it too. This is a great sauce recipe, that can easily be adjusted to one's personal taste or idea of what General Tao's chicken should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
It was my first Asian dish cooked (besides stir-fry). It was good, but needed a good bit of rice to tone down the sweetness. It was almost sickly sweet, but the overall flavors are wonderful. Will try again. I followed the recipe exactly but will find a way to cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Not crazy about the oyster sauce. Not what I thought it would taste like. Sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome! Tastes just like the restaurant. I took the advice of another reviewer and cut back on the ketchup and vinegar and added more soy sauce. I also added 1 Tbsp of crushed red pepper, because we prefer spicy dishes. I served it with "Restaurant Style Fried Rice", also from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States