General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I added A few to many peppers did not think this tasted like I wanted it to. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mineral, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Not the true flavor we were looking for. Good as a honey BBQ kind of chicken and everyone did enjoy it. Needs more heat and some tweaking to get that real General Tao's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A very good dish however it didn't taste like general toa chicken. I added less ketchup and enjoyed. Even added it to my cookbook wich i don't very often with my recipes but just not what i thought it is was going
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I liked this dish I followed the recipes but omit the green onions and added hot oil chili (sate). made it more spicy. I would definitely make this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terence Willson
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i give it a 5 stars because it was delicious but i didn't follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terence Willson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
delicious, my husband says this is better than take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My famly loves this and my fussy boys do not complain when I make this. I find it very authentic. I do add one green pepper to the sauce before adding the chicken and also some green onion slivers on top before serving. It makes it look like restaurant style. I was leery about the oyster sauce initially but it makes it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was phenomenal! The only reason I didn't rate it 5 starts is b/c I made a few minor changes. As per other user's recommendations I cut back on the ketchup and vinegar. I also added garlic and sherry to the mix. I used Sriracha because my husband loves heat. The changes were made simply based on personal preference. Also, I didn't have any problems keeping the chicken "crispy". Unlike other recipes, it didn't go all goopy when I added the chicken to the sauce. However I made sure the chicken bits were a nice golden brown all over before I pulled them out. I also cooked everything in an enameled cast-iron dutch oven which might have something to do with the texture holding up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States