General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
My kids took one bite and said, "It's just like in the restaurant!" I added broccoli and green peppers to mine, and I added a few tablespoons of sriracha to the ketchup mixture. I also added hot chili powder to give it extra kick because my family likes it spicy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiny, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday and it was amazing. I did all my prep work beforehand so it was easy just to throw things in as per the recipe. I was very impressed. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Wow I really liked this. Things I did different. I only had two chicken breasts, that was enough for two adults & a child. The batter I did the full amounts, I suppose they could've been cut backa bit for the amount of chicken I had. The frying I did in my deep cast iron pot. used the full 1/2 cup of oil & then let the chicken drain on paper towel in my low heat oven. Now when it came to the sauce I drained off approx. half the frying oil. I didn't want to eat that much veg oil. I was heavy handed with the ginger. I did add the sesame oil. appox 1/4 cup of sugar. didn't change other amounts with the sauce, except I had oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. My daughter was able to handle the sauce too. Worth the effort, very good. next time have some broccoli & maybe some pineapple chuncks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was okay. I don't think it taste like take out. I followed the recipe as written since this was my first time trying it, I will definitely tweak next time. I doubled everything, I had about for pounds of CB to use. Next time I will half the sugar and ketchup. Add more ginger. I will also add whole dried chili pepper like my take out restaurant does. Maybe some cayenne for some heat. This is a keeper with changes, but anything new to do to chicken is a keeper in my book. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Easy to make and turned out great. I had to substitute with fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and rice vinegar instead of white vinegar, but my husband still really enjoyed it. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mich coco gee
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Pretty awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! I've made it many times and never change a thing about the sauce. It's so delicious! The first time I made it with beef and veggies. I've added the sauce to frozen breaded shrimp, mixed veggies, and yakisoba noodles for a quick and easy dinner. This recipe will definitely be made a few times a month in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent chicken. Finally got it the way I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States