General Robert E. Lee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I was excited to try this recipe because of the combination of lemon and coconut. Like other reviewers have said, this recipe does take some time. I think the prep time listed in an underestimation. I was a little concerned when I separated the layers because the cake did seem dry and bland, but once I poured the delicious lemon filling on and let it soak in, the cake had a great lemon flavor. Definitely let the cake sit a couple of hrs before serving. The cake does have a dense texture, and is not comparable to the texture of a boxed cake mix. This was the main negative for me. The frosting is really sweet but tasty. For me, the best part is the filling which has a wonderful lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious cake and icing. Definitely a bit labor intensive. Make sure not to overbeat the egg whites or the cake will fall in the center as it cools. I also had trouble with the lemon curd. I was expecting it to thicken, like pudding as I was cooking it. It never did, as a consequence I over cooked it and it ended up more like lemon jelly, rather than curd -still tart and delicious, bit not the right consistency. Looking at other recipes perhaps a better stopping point is until it coats the back of a wooden spoon. The frosting is delicious; the combination of orange, lemon and coconut was perfect for this cake. I will definitely make this cake again, a bit wiser for the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Oh my! My husband, also a true southern gentleman, loves it. A very lemony and delicious sponge cake. Had some lemon curd I wanted to use and tried it with this recipe, so I've yet to try the filling for this. Used the frosting just around the side of the cake and put lemon curd on all the layers and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
For the actual cake: I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have lemon zest... I found the cake to be dry and lacking the lemon flavor I was looking for. Why is it so difficult to find a good lemon cake recipe?! I did not try the frosting so cannot rate that, I did a lemon chocolate and was disappointed in the cake's outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Cake is more like a sponge-cake than I was anticipating, but the lemon curd is AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Best cake ever. Enough said. But to elaborate: The recipe is wonderful; the only change I made was to add more zest than was called for in all parts of the cake. I might try to convert this to a sheet cake for more common every-day use, but it was superb. Received rave reviews from my parents and my family, and I loved it. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
It's unusual to find a new cake recipe so good. I've had this saved to my recipe box for, no joke, 10 years. Finally tried it out this weekend for my MIL's birthday. A real show-stopper. Very special. Not at all hard to make, although the zesting/juicing of all of those lemons/oranges took a lot of time. Only modification: I thought it was strange that the cake recipe had no oil/fat in it. I thought of how oil makes chiffon cakes so nice and tender, and added 1/3 cup canola oil to the batter. Taste and texture of cake was superb. I will make this again for a special occasion. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is an old and grand recipe and worth all the effort. BUT, it is a LOT of effort and very time-consuming. I admit, over the years I cheat and adapt. You can have basically the same cake, minus the jellied bits, by buying lemon cake mix, doubling the frosting and mixing in a bit of coconut. I make this "cheaters" RELee cake and no one ever notices the difference. It's a great adaptation if you're pressed for time (and who isn't!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
well, regardless of the name of the cake, I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States