Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! It had excellent flavor and the only change that I made was to add 1 tablespoon of corn starch to the 3 tablespoons of water, it added a thickness to the mixture that I think really adds to the dish. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I see this as a great starting point for many other recipes. I also had no use for the flour and water combo at the end, but that is because I used a pound of beef. I left everything else the same. The flavor of the meat is excellent - I will be using it in other recipes (Sloppy Joe type sandwiches, stir-fried with fresh Chow Mein noodles, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This was good. I substituted celery and green peppers for the green beans since I was out of green beans at the time. That worked well. I also added some seseme seeds after reading the other reviews. The ginger definately adds a big kick if you use all that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Very good! I use 1 pound of beef with 1 pound of beans...gotta have beef,otherwise it might seem like a side dish and not the entree.Again,vey good,lot's of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
The flavor was great!...I mixed in thin egg noodles and it went excellent..next time I would add either sesame seeds or almonds for texture. However, my husband was looking for something additional from this meal...it was too one-dimensional...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was great. I enjoyed the oriental flavor and plan to add some toasted sesame seeds next time. I added more ground beef and used fresh green beans but my husband came home an hour late. Needless to say the beans looked like overcooked can beans. I'm sure this will be even better when served on time. I added a little water too. What is there to thicken? I've already had requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
tasted good but could use some improvement. I used slightly more (3/4 lbs) ground beef, and it was barely enough. Fresh onions would have been nice, too, and the 5 tbs of honey and soysauce did not generate enough liquid to "thicken" anything in the end. The dish came out moist enough, but if you serve it over rice, I recommend adding some broth or water to make it saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
My husband loved this recipe, it was FAST and easy to make and very filling. I served it over white rice and doubled the amount of ground beef. I was thinking next time to add sliced almonds or some orange zest for an oriental kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Unfortunately I was the only one who enjoyed this! I thought my husband would really love it, but apparently not. After reading some of the reviews I decided to add liquid and cut way back on the pepper and ginger. Also I doubled the recipe to use a whole pound of ground beef...husband really likes meat! I used fresh garlic and onions, didn't really measure them, just threw a bunch in. I served it over white rice and thought the meal was easy to put together and didn't call for a bunch of ingredients I didn't already have on-hand. But if I'm the only one who will eat it, that's a big disadvantage! Thanks anyway though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
My husband and I both loved it! It is spicy and somewhat hot from the ginger and pepper, but very tasty. I used snap peas instead of green beans and served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States