Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I submitted this recipe originally. It was supposed to be 1 1/2 teaspoons not tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was surprisingly good. My whole family loved it (except my 13 year old, who finds just about everything "too spicy"). The ginger gives it a wonderful flavor. I used frozen whole green beans, and it came out great. I don't know if adding the flour is necessary--it makes the dish congeal a bit better, but it makes it somewhat stickier, too. Next time I might try omitting the flour. I will DEFINITELY make it again, though. So easy, and so good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This had a good but strong flavor. I added more meat, green beans, and doubled the soy sauce and honey. I kept all of the spice ingredients the same excpet the ginger, I only used 1 Tb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
My family thought this recipe was horrible...too dry, sticky texture, no flavor. I used canned green beans instead of fresh, but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Awful. I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also added chopped onion, and minced garlic to the recipe. I'm very disappointed in the results. It could have been the turkey, I don't know, and I won't be finding out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I didn't really like this recipe too much. I'm not sure why. It was too gingery for my taste, and as it turns out I'm not a fan of green beans cooked this way. I substituted beef cubes for ground beef. Maybe that was my mistake, because I didnt alter the amount of spices I put in. May suit your tastebuds better than it did mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Yuk! There is way too much ginger in this recipe! I think no more than 1 teaspoon of ginger would be sufficient. I will try it again with the reduced amount of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Green beans isn't one of my favorite vegies but these were pretty darn good. My wife liked these a lot. I did use real onions and garlic, otherwise I made this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
What a great idea! Love this recipe AND this website. I find that so often I am just lost for meal ideas and get tired of the things which DO occur to me. This time I typed in ground beef and green beans and this recipe came up. The recipe submitter will probably be appalled to read that I made it, plunked it in a cassarole dish, topped it with tater tots , and baked it for 20 minutes. :+) But my kids LOVED it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was very easy and very good. My husband and I really enjoyed this. As suggested I used 1 lb. of ground beef and made this our main course. Once my green beans were in I cooked it 10 minutes (at 7 minutes the beans were still a little on the crunchy side still). I only needed the amount of flour and water called for in the recipe, and I used the 96% lean ground beef. I also added a fresh onion instead of onion powder as suggested by other reviewers -- definitely a good thing and worth doing. My husband kept commenting on how sweet the onion got. I served it with steamed white rice. My husband kept adding spicy Chinese chili oil, and I tried it but actually preferred the recipe as is (and I adore spicy food). If you're looking for something quick and easy, this is the recipe. Next time we may add some bamboo shoots and/or water chestnuts. It might even be good with ground pork instead of ground beef. I think that this will become a regular dish around our house since it's so quick and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States