Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I thought this was just okay, so I'll give it a 3-star rating. Frankly, I was a little disappointed - the ingredient list made it sound interesting and a bit unusual, but it actually turned out to be slightly weird, for lack of a better word. I made it exactly as written, using 93% lean ground beef, and 1.5 teaspoons, instead of 1.5 tablespoons, of ground ginger (I happened to see the review purportedly from the recipe submitter, which mentioned this mistake). Maybe the taste was due to the dried spices burning a little? Not that I know they did, but the mixture in step 1 was not very wet. I probably won't try this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was a super easy, super fast DELICIOUS dinner. My hubby ate it up and I loved the sweet tangy sauce. It would also be good using chunks of chicken rather than the beef. I served it with rice and added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Fees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Gap, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
my family raved about this! We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this last night and I can't put my finger on it, but the taste was awful, my husband thought the same thing, but my 3 year old gobbled it down! Good thing I had a back up plan like I usually do when I try things out for the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie2783

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
After reading the review where the reviewer tried turkey in this recipe, I was a little leery about trying it since that's all I had, along with canned green beans. So I decided when it came time to add the soy sauce and honey, I added the soy first and let the turkey cook in that for a couple of minutes then added the honey, etc., and it seems to have worked. :9 Might be a little salty for some folks, tho. I did forget the flour and water step, but I like it just the same. I think I'll make some noodles to go under it next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWolverine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I really liked this recipe- it gives me something to do with ground beef other than hamburgers and meatballs! It was better before I added the flour & water thickener, when the meat was crumbly, so next time I will leave that off. Also, my husband and I liked the level of spices, but the kids said it was too spicy. (They complained, but they ate it!) If you have sensitive palates in your family, cut down on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Given the fact that this is a healthy dish, it was ok. Beyond that, nothing to get too excited about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This wa a good dinner to serve up when I was in a rush. I served it with oriental noodles and it filled a gap, good for those nights when you need something filling and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was tasty, though I don't think it needed all that flour and water to thicken. I would have preferred it 'saucier'. I also added sauteed onions to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
We make this regularly (at least monthly) and it turns out great every time. Quick, simple, tasty: a great mid-week recipe for a busy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States