Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Meh. This was just so-so. This has great flavor, but the cooking instructions didn't work for me. I was hesitant to add the cornstarch slurry (my beef mixture was not nearly saucy enough to justify adding it), but at the last minute I decided to go for it. I ended up having to moisten everything with some of the broth from the Raamen noodles I planned to add to the skillet. With my change, this was pretty good. For a quick weeknight meal, this is worth a second try. Thanks anyways, Angelica. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used a full lb of ground beef so I increased the amts of ingredients. I didn't quite double the ingredients however I added about half more of everything and it turned out ok. I'm not so sure increasing the ingredients was necessary as it had alot of flavor. I served it as a main dish but it so desperately needed a starch. Next time I will try it with some kind of pasta. It was very easy and came together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Family did not care for it, too much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Obviously TBSP is supposed to be TSP (as the original posted noted in the comments section). We LOVED this recipe! It is so excellent that we are using these flavors on chicken and shrimp and just about everything. This will be a regular meal in our house for sure! (we have 3 kids, (12y, 7y,5y) all loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Olive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Tried this tonight - awesome! I was skeptical cuz it was ground meat & not strips of beef/steak. It tasted great & was super easy to make. My changes - I used 1# of meat instead of half pound & I tripled the sauce recipe so that we had some to go w the rice (got that hint from other reviews).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe which I found in Betty Crocker cookbook, and used molasses instead of honey. Gives the sauce a nice brown color. And canned green beans work fine, although I imagine fresh would be a lot better. Serve it over rice, with French fried onions sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedes M. Ciolek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I haven't tried this yet but it looks like a 4 star....I would like to try this recipe but the main photo shows Ramen noodles in the recipe...how many packages?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Recipe is incomplete at best. Glad I read the reviews so I knew to REDUCE the ginger to 1 1/2 TEASPOONS instead of tablespoons. THAT would have been a disaster. Well, I added an onion, but didn't use ramen noodles (served over rice). I also made numerous other changes that my family expects (more veggies, less black pepper, added thai pepper, smidge of lime juice), so can only give 3-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Added some cayenne pepper and used brown sugar. Didn't have fresh green beans so I used canned. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My family liked this. I would make again and serve over rice. I doubled the meat so I didn't need to thicken the sauce as there was just enough to keep it all moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States