Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I love how easy this was to make....like a healthy tastier hamburger helper. I microwaved a bag of boil in bag rice to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We reduced the soy sauce to 2 tbsp and it was still plenty salty so we'd probably reduce it to 1 tbsp next time and add another tbsp of honey. Hubby thought he'd maybe add a vidalia onion next time, too. We served it with rice and were pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
So easy to make and delicious. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ym1022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This dish was a hit. My cousin ate with us and he said it was really good. I did modified the dish just a little, I used frozen green beans because that's all I had, I also added some saute' onions and I added more of the honey and soy sauce to make more of a gravy but otherwise the flavors were on point. Not too sweet or too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My whole family loved this! Very quick and easy but very tasty. I used frozen green beans and worked just as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this last night. It sounded so good I could not wait to try it. I was, however, disappointed. It did not have much flavor. I was hesitant to add the flour/water mixture at the end, but did so anyway. I wish I would not have, it didn't need it. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkbonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My family absolutely ADORED this dish! I did do a few things different. I removed some soy sauce and added more honey, mostly because we're on a low sodium diet. The honey and soy I added to some water and cooked ramen noodles in it before adding the beef, green beans and onions. I cooked the water down until it made a delicious sauce with the noodles and other ingredients, and ate it that way. It was stupendous! My father had 3 helpings! When I make this again, my only change will be to take out some ginger, as I'm not used to the heat. It wasn't bad, but I'm just not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Meh. This was just so-so. This has great flavor, but the cooking instructions didn't work for me. I was hesitant to add the cornstarch slurry (my beef mixture was not nearly saucy enough to justify adding it), but at the last minute I decided to go for it. I ended up having to moisten everything with some of the broth from the Raamen noodles I planned to add to the skillet. With my change, this was pretty good. For a quick weeknight meal, this is worth a second try. Thanks anyways, Angelica. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used a full lb of ground beef so I increased the amts of ingredients. I didn't quite double the ingredients however I added about half more of everything and it turned out ok. I'm not so sure increasing the ingredients was necessary as it had alot of flavor. I served it as a main dish but it so desperately needed a starch. Next time I will try it with some kind of pasta. It was very easy and came together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Family did not care for it, too much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States