Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Gelato differs from ice cream in that it has a lower fat content (higher ratio of milk to cream) and less overrun (volume of air) which makes it denser and creamier than ice cream and mimics the higher quality, more expensive commercial ice creams. This recipe, with its higher milk to cream ratio and the deliberate omission of vanilla, is an authentic recipe for Italian "Gelato di Crema." To omit eggs, or to reverse this lower fat, cream to milk ratio in this recipe, effectively makes this ice cream, not Italian Gelato. The only flaw here, and certainly no fault of this recipe, is that our home ice cream makers cannot duplicate the slow churning necessary to create less overrun (air) which results in the creaminess and density gelato is known for, so this was a little on the grainy or icy side. This is just delicious, and truly Italian! If you think this would be missing something without adding vanilla, just give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This is the perfect gelato base, and it is well worth the effort it takes to do the straining! I added 1/2 cup Nutella and a splash of vanilla to this and let the mixture chill overnight before freezing it. The texture is perfect, and the flavor was wonderful. I don't think it needed to sit in the freezer to firm up at all, unlike many of the other recipes I've made. If you like very firm gelato/ice cream, though, it would be best to freeze for an hour or two before serving. This is my new favourite recipe, and I will be experimenting with all kinds of flavor add-ins in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved this recipe. I added cocoa powder and raspberry extract and eveyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I added 1/4 cup of Hershey's Special Dark dry cocoa. It was exquisite. I used my KitchenAid professional mixer that has an ice cream attachment and the frozen ice cream bowl is perfect to make gelato as it does not incorporate air making the gelato taste as good as any traditional Italian gelato I have ever had. I can't wait to try just the base recipe. My husband and son loved it and only wish I had made more. On a side note, we had the dark chocolate gelato after a very spicy meal of traditional red Jambalaya and it was a nice dessert to quench the fire of the main dish. The dark chocolate cocoa is more black walnut in color and it turned out very elegant. And yes, I did strain it, very good advice from previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackRabbit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roby, Texas, USA
Living In: Tuscola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I did it. Pistachio Gelato, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I added 1/2 the Nutella to it and its amazing. I'm going to try fruit next. I always make sure to cook it awhile longer after you temper the eggs with the milk in order to keep from having a raw egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I doubled this recipe, but still only used 5 eggs...I might not even use that many next time. I poured it through cheese cloth before AND after I let it chill. It was delicious and got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Hume, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is an excellent gelato recipe. You definitely taste the rich egg custard so it is well suited for the richer flavor additions like chocolate, coffee, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very excellent taste of Italy. I used the Gelato Harlequin Electric Ice Cream Maker by Nemox. It turned out very nice. I don't know if it has a slower churn or not but I let it churn longer than I would regular icecream just in case. For the person who mentioned raw egg yolks, keep in mind the warm cream and the reheating of the mixture actually cooks the yolks into the Gelato, but the method is about having them cook smoothly into it and not lumpily. I've made it with melted Chocolate, Vanilla Bean, Coffee, and Raspberries. Maybe next time, I'll start doing some combinations and possibly some candy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This basic recipe has good flavour. I added pure vanilla to start, as we will continue making this trying tons of different add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States