Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Wow, I feel kind like a trailblazer! ostaff1, thanks for sharing this basic recipe. We changed it up a bit since I had a LOT of half and half on hand we used that instead of the milk and added 2 teaspoons of real vanilla(accept no substitutes on vanilla in my book), but we missed a step and forgot to strain the mix before refrigerating it overnight. It took least than 20 minutes in the ice cream freezer and will double this next time because it wasn't enough for the beaters to really work on. If not for the straining issue, this would have been velvety and smoooth from beginning to end of taste, but because we forgot a film develops on the roof of your mouth and the spoon after eating this for a bit. Still delicious, but DON'T FORGET TO STRAIN THIS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very impressive. I too skipped the milk in favor of cream (had it on hand already) and melted 4 oz of semi-sweet chocolate in the cream before tempering the eggs. On the previous reviewer's advice, I put the tempered mixture through a double-thickness of cheesecloth. The texture of the finished product is unbelievable - extraordinarily smooth and delicious. This is a total keeper - husband says it reminds him of what gelato was like in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I didn't like this recipe at all. I don't like to be able to taste raw egg in icecream and the taste in this recipe is overwhelming. The texture is good but I definately won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had gelato in italy, and this homemade recipe tasted almost the same, next time i'll add fuit to make it like the gelao I had here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe tasted pretty close to the gelato I enjoyed in Rome. It was perhaps (as one other person suggeted) a little eggy, but it wasn't too bad and the texture was devine. I used a 1-quart ice cream maker, and the recipe yielded about 3/4 of a quart, so in the future I will likely increase the recipe by 25% except for the eggs, which I think should balance the taste better. To flavor this recipe I used about 7 oz of Nutella, which gave it a delicious hazelnutty flavor, and I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup because the Nutella is pretty sweet on its own. It came out pretty nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I doubled this recipe, but still only used 5 eggs...I might not even use that many next time. I poured it through cheese cloth before AND after I let it chill. It was delicious and got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Hume, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Gelato differs from ice cream in that it has a lower fat content (higher ratio of milk to cream) and less overrun (volume of air) which makes it denser and creamier than ice cream and mimics the higher quality, more expensive commercial ice creams. This recipe, with its higher milk to cream ratio and the deliberate omission of vanilla, is an authentic recipe for Italian "Gelato di Crema." To omit eggs, or to reverse this lower fat, cream to milk ratio in this recipe, effectively makes this ice cream, not Italian Gelato. The only flaw here, and certainly no fault of this recipe, is that our home ice cream makers cannot duplicate the slow churning necessary to create less overrun (air) which results in the creaminess and density gelato is known for, so this was a little on the grainy or icy side. This is just delicious, and truly Italian! If you think this would be missing something without adding vanilla, just give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is an excellent gelato recipe. You definitely taste the rich egg custard so it is well suited for the richer flavor additions like chocolate, coffee, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very excellent taste of Italy. I used the Gelato Harlequin Electric Ice Cream Maker by Nemox. It turned out very nice. I don't know if it has a slower churn or not but I let it churn longer than I would regular icecream just in case. For the person who mentioned raw egg yolks, keep in mind the warm cream and the reheating of the mixture actually cooks the yolks into the Gelato, but the method is about having them cook smoothly into it and not lumpily. I've made it with melted Chocolate, Vanilla Bean, Coffee, and Raspberries. Maybe next time, I'll start doing some combinations and possibly some candy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This basic recipe has good flavour. I added pure vanilla to start, as we will continue making this trying tons of different add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States