Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I live in Sicily, and I absolutely love gelato! After a visit back to the States last summer, I was amazingly disappointed at regular ice cream. This recipe is great! I did double-strain the mixture. I made this for dessert when entertaining guests over the weekend. I flavored it with vanilla and almond, then served it with Zuppa Inglese (there's a great recipe for that on here, too). You'll have guests talking about it for a long time. I already have it requested for our 4th of July gathering. :) Buon Apetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was a great recipe, I did not think that the egg taste was overbearing. Also I followed some of the other reviewers example using only 1/2 the Sugar while adding Nutela. Amazing, however when I make it again I will only use Nutela (the Nutela is so sweet you really don't need any additional sugar) I can't wait to start experimenting with this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
great ice cream, worked well when in large amounts ie, 2.5L. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this and added instant coffee and vanilla. It was my first time making gelato. I did not strain it as suggested but it still came out so creamy and smooth. My family loved it and I couldn't detect any raw egg taste. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing, OSTAFF1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is a great simple starter recipe for gelato. In Italy, they call this particular flavor "crema." I make it plain or use it as a base for other flavors (nutella, cinnamon, strawberry, so far). The trick is to temper your eggs carefully and to make sure that you don't overcook the custard mixture so that it curdles. You can still strain it but the finished frozen product is icy rather than smooth (learned that lesson the hard way). Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is the best recipe for gelato that I've found! It's a great base recipe for adding flavorings such as mango pulp, pistachio, chocolate, vanilla bean, Nutella. I have tried skipping the straining step, and didn't notice much of a difference. However, if the mixture seems overheated or curdled, it's best to strain the mixture after taking it off the stove to remove the curdled bits before refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
So if I cooked it too hot like the idiot that I am, and it curdled, should I try to go ahead and freeze it? Or should I just throw it out and start over? I have a big fam, and guests this weekend, I multiplied this recipe by four and I have a lot of curdled milk, cream, sugar, and eggs. Any help? :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I did it. Pistachio Gelato, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I added 1/2 the Nutella to it and its amazing. I'm going to try fruit next. I always make sure to cook it awhile longer after you temper the eggs with the milk in order to keep from having a raw egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This is the perfect gelato base, and it is well worth the effort it takes to do the straining! I added 1/2 cup Nutella and a splash of vanilla to this and let the mixture chill overnight before freezing it. The texture is perfect, and the flavor was wonderful. I don't think it needed to sit in the freezer to firm up at all, unlike many of the other recipes I've made. If you like very firm gelato/ice cream, though, it would be best to freeze for an hour or two before serving. This is my new favourite recipe, and I will be experimenting with all kinds of flavor add-ins in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States