Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent! I even managed to get it a pretty good consistency without using an ice cream maker. I followed instructions elsewhere to place in freezer and remove every 30 minutes to whisk back to creamy for 2 hours. Added 2 splashes of vanilla extract and 1 splash of almond extract for a tasty basic vanilla. Next is onto the flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A little sweet for me. Next time I will try it using less sugar and 18% cream instead of 36%. I added an entire pureed pineapple and it was amazing. I want to try it with other fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEY101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This came out tasting great- not too eggy for me. For those that it came out eggy tasting- I think you should try cooking a bit longer on the stove. My only complaint is it was a bit icy and not creamy, but I think this is b/c my ice cream maker is from about 1970 haha. Great recipe, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz2245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! The gelato turned out light and fluffy - not dense and stodgy at all. I added the scrapings of a vanilla bean pod to the custard base as it cooked. I would definitely make this recipe again. I might try the Nutella or a fruit mix-in next time, as recommended by other users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Such a great base recipe! I've made an espresso version, a cookie version, a ginger version. Gelato is pretty much the only thing i make with my ice cream maker now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Shirley
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
i have no ice cream maker so i just froze it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipo202

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Followed directions to a "T" and it came out perfect. Light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
It was just ok! It certainly didn't taste like the Gelato I've eaten before. So, probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Also used 2 whole eggs and increased the other ingredients by 50%. Forgot the vanilla too--turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
this gelato recipe is awesome very similiar in taste and texture to the gelato in Italy, i was very impressed with this it was great and not to hard to make either, i made this with chocolate syrup and i also cut up some pieces of fudge brownies. Thanks OSTAFF1!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States