Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
For amore traditional Italian Gelato you shouldn't put eggs but at home it's ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I love the texture and creaminess of it. i added vanilla bean and strawberries. I don't have an ice-cream maker, so i put it in a 9X13 glass dish and wisked it after 30 min, wisked it again after another 30 min, and using a spatula, folded it into itself once after another 30 minutes. Allow to freeze and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mlarcher
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Easiest gelato recipe ever. I skip the sieve. do not have an ice cream maker but freeze directly and then process it in my vitamix and refreeze again. mix in home made strawberry syrup or other flavor right before completely frozen. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Being European, we love and appreciate good gelato. This passed our family's critical tasting with flying colors. All said it was the BEST gelato/icecream EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I read dozens of the reviews and apparently the only one who is uncertain what the term "gel slightly" means. So I made a custard, which is what I usually do. I also had trouble frothing up the eggs and sugar in my KitchenAide. Such a small amount. I'm sure it will be good, and I will remember to strain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Well not bad.... but I used Half and Half only 3 egg yolks and 1/3 cup sugar. It seemed rather bland over all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Awesome! This is a wonderful base for so many flavors. I use skim milk and half and half. The eggs are not raw as after warming the eggs and sugar with the warmed cream, you put them back on to heat a bit longer. I have made this recipe adding Mexican Vanilla, roasted pecans, pineapple and fresh rosemary, chocolate hazelnut with chopped hazelnuts... I do vary on the amount of sugar according to what I plan to add. Example is Nutella for choc/hazelnut. It is a sweet addition, so I add only 1/3 cup sugar. This recipe will be my base recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearl City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was a great base recipe and I liked reading the other comments and additions to the recipe. I didn't find this at all eggy. While I was cooking the custard base I added fresh sweet basil, lemon zest and some of the juice from the lemon. The result was a creamy gelato with a fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookindude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made two flavors using this base mixture, which I followed to the "t". Added 1/2 a small jar of Nutella to mixture while it thickened on stove. To other batch I replaced 1 cup of the milk with coconut cream (not coconut milk) and 1 whole vanilla bean I scraped the seeds out from and cooked pod with base: then strained. When gelato was almost done churning I added 1/2 c toasted coconut and 1/4 cup shaved milk chocolate. The Nutella mixture seemed very creamy and smooth PRIOR to churning in comparison to the coconut. The coconut had an "eggy" taste Prior to churning. However, the Nutella gelato had an odd grainy texture after churning, but the flavor was really good. The coconut was amazing, did not taste "eggy" anymore and nice and smooth after churning. I did add 1/2 c more heavy cream while it was churning as it seemed way to thick. I don't know if it would be better to add nutella AFTER heating the base, or maybe the coconut was smooth because I added extra cream? I will try it again and adjust my rating if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was a good way to use up some egg yolks and some berries that I had. I made the gelato base and then added in some raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries that I had run through my food processor. Straight out of the ice cream maker, this was creamy and absolutely delicious! After sitting overnight in the freezer, it was a brick. We had to let this either sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes or microwave it, just to be able to scoop it out. The flavor was awesome, just wish I knew how to keep it from getting so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States