Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Two attempts at constructing this to the letter of the recipe and the "slight gel that coats the back of the soon" never happened. I've been cooking for over 25 years and this recipe is just a lumpy egg mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I cannot rave about this recipe enough. Here are a few tips: Don't rush it, each step takes awhile, temper the eggs slowly, keep stirring once you return it to the pot, and don't skip straining it. I wanted more gelato so I increased the milk to 3 cups and the cream to 1 1/2 cups, but left the sugar the same. I also used two whole eggs (easier than separating eggs) instead of the 4 yolks and it fit perfectly in my 4 1/2 cup gelato maker. Use the freshest ingredients you can find, I actually had fresh milk! After chilling the custard you can add your mix-ins. I added about 6 oz of nutella and 2 tbls of unsweetened cocoa and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Perfect as is, especially if you choose good-quality ingredients, which I believe is KEY. If you choose generic, low-cost, cheap-quality ingredients, you'll get the same in return, as with most any recipe. I have since made it infusing ground cardamom and vanilla- delicious. This is now my base for future recipes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I was really looking forward to this, based upon all the other reviews, but it just didn't turn out that well for me. I followed the instructions exactly, but it was slightly grainy and didn't harden up very well, despite 45 minutes in my ice cream maker. I have it in my freezer now, hopeful that it will harden up enough to eat. Since I am a novice ice cream maker, and this is only the 3rd time I've used my machine, I might have to chalk it up to my inexperience and try the recipe again another time, because I love gelato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Used 1.5 cups of heavy cream and 1.5 cups of 1% and added vanilla and cinnamon. Family loves it and I'm not allowed to buy store bought ice cream anymore!! hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe blew my mind. Take your time with it. Make sure that you temper the eggs well, and keep the heat on medium as you wait for the mixture to thicken after adding the tempered eggs into the milk. Another recipe that I cross checked with said that the consistency is right when the mix reaches 180 degrees. Mine looked noticeably thicker than when I started heating it through at the 180 mark. I didn't need to strain anything. I added 1 cup of cocoa powder and about a cup of chocolate chips to the milk mixture as it heated. It was insanely rich, but that is exactly what I was trying to create! Also, I just put the pot in the freezer and checked/stirred it periodically to make it cool faster. Threw it in the ice cream maker for about 30 minutes. Try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The taste was different. Like super rich. We didn't care for it much but it was good and the direction and recipe are solid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Had some peaches that needed to be used, so I pureed a couple, added some diced peaches, and some mini chocolate chips to the custard. I actually liked the flavor better before I added the peaches, so next time, I think I'll add no fruit. I still would add the mini chips, as they were delicious in this. It was tasty, a little icy, just not as creamy as gelato I would buy at an ice cream shop. Admittedly, that could have been a result of adding the puree and chopped peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Took a little longer than expected, but worth it. Took another reviewers advice and reduced sugar to 1/4c and added 7oz of Nutella. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My first attempt must have been over cooked. It got grainy and separated. Found somewhere else that suggested that after mixing the eggs and dairy that you heat just to 160-180 degrees. This does not take long. My second attempt with less heating turned out smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States