Gelato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I was really looking forward to this, based upon all the other reviews, but it just didn't turn out that well for me. I followed the instructions exactly, but it was slightly grainy and didn't harden up very well, despite 45 minutes in my ice cream maker. I have it in my freezer now, hopeful that it will harden up enough to eat. Since I am a novice ice cream maker, and this is only the 3rd time I've used my machine, I might have to chalk it up to my inexperience and try the recipe again another time, because I love gelato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Used 1.5 cups of heavy cream and 1.5 cups of 1% and added vanilla and cinnamon. Family loves it and I'm not allowed to buy store bought ice cream anymore!! hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe blew my mind. Take your time with it. Make sure that you temper the eggs well, and keep the heat on medium as you wait for the mixture to thicken after adding the tempered eggs into the milk. Another recipe that I cross checked with said that the consistency is right when the mix reaches 180 degrees. Mine looked noticeably thicker than when I started heating it through at the 180 mark. I didn't need to strain anything. I added 1 cup of cocoa powder and about a cup of chocolate chips to the milk mixture as it heated. It was insanely rich, but that is exactly what I was trying to create! Also, I just put the pot in the freezer and checked/stirred it periodically to make it cool faster. Threw it in the ice cream maker for about 30 minutes. Try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The taste was different. Like super rich. We didn't care for it much but it was good and the direction and recipe are solid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Had some peaches that needed to be used, so I pureed a couple, added some diced peaches, and some mini chocolate chips to the custard. I actually liked the flavor better before I added the peaches, so next time, I think I'll add no fruit. I still would add the mini chips, as they were delicious in this. It was tasty, a little icy, just not as creamy as gelato I would buy at an ice cream shop. Admittedly, that could have been a result of adding the puree and chopped peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Took a little longer than expected, but worth it. Took another reviewers advice and reduced sugar to 1/4c and added 7oz of Nutella. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My first attempt must have been over cooked. It got grainy and separated. Found somewhere else that suggested that after mixing the eggs and dairy that you heat just to 160-180 degrees. This does not take long. My second attempt with less heating turned out smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I do not have a ice cream maker. Can I make gelato without ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a superb recipe, but does any one no any different variations?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Made this almost exactly as stated, but added a teaspoon of banana extract after the mixture's final cooking. Best gelato I ever had. It was a little icy, but when slightly melted, OMG!! The custard base is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States