Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wow! This stuff is great. I too cut down the butter, though not QUITE by half. (Instead of 1 cup, I used 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp.) So far I've done watermelon, cran-raspberry, apple, berry blue, and cherry. I have a question for all you more experienced candy makers out there, though. How the heck do I get it to hardball stage without scorching the sugar on the bottom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe forever...Thank you..I used to buy this stuff for $6.99 it was a little bag and I always wanted more. Great recipe for kids, great snack for a kids party. Try making a few batches and mixing the Jello colors. My family just loved it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini Hurtado

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
My kids loved this. I did not make it in to balls - just had big chunks of this great tasting orange popcorn. Easy snack to make for kids of all ages :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I reduced the butter as suggested by other reviewers. This was really good I ended up doing three batches of green apple, watermelon, and berry blue. Mixed all together and yum. I think it was easier to mix in a big bowl first though, the popcorn was coated better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I love this! I made it for my dad for a father's day treat. It tastes great mixed with other popcorn recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
very simple to make, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This one is great! I must admit I was a little leary of gelatin on my popcorn but I admit I have been pleasantly surprised. I like to seperate into batches using different flavored gelatin for a nice layered display in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I used only half the butter called for in the recipe (good thing since I wound up eating almost all of it in one day)! It worked just fine, and next time I am going to try cutting back on the sugar. I made green "Shrek" popcorn, and my 6 year old loved it. We sprinkled it with green colored sugar for a little extra "sparkle." Thanks Grandma Berthie, for this fun party recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This recipe was very cool we had a lot of fun making it. I modified a little bit and only used 1/3 c butter and I did not roll into balls instead I lightly mixed th epopcorn with the sugar mix and the peices got partially coated. It was great just like the flavored popcorn at the mall. One note though, I live in a very humid area and by mid-day the popcorn all started to melt together. Dry days would be best for this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Awesome-- I had never tried any recipe like this before! It will make my 2nd graders class very happy=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States