Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe forever...Thank you..I used to buy this stuff for $6.99 it was a little bag and I always wanted more. Great recipe for kids, great snack for a kids party. Try making a few batches and mixing the Jello colors. My family just loved it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
My kids loved this. I did not make it in to balls - just had big chunks of this great tasting orange popcorn. Easy snack to make for kids of all ages :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This recipe called for WAY too much butter. Traditional popcorn ball recipes call for very little or no butter, so I was really surprised when this one called for so much. You figure that you have to put in 1 cup of butter for only 10 popcorn balls, that's a ton of butter per serving. I tried it anyway, and they were so buttery that they were unedible. I think I will try the recipe again, but with more corn syrup (to make them stick together better) and a whole lot less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I have to agree that there is too much butter, but I will definitely use this recipe again cutting the butter in half. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I reduced the butter as suggested by other reviewers. This was really good I ended up doing three batches of green apple, watermelon, and berry blue. Mixed all together and yum. I think it was easier to mix in a big bowl first though, the popcorn was coated better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I love this! I made it for my dad for a father's day treat. It tastes great mixed with other popcorn recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
very simple to make, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Very messy to work with but fun. I made this with my niece and it really sugared her up! She spent more time licking the gelatin off her fingers. My dad, who is not keen to sweet things, had more than three helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulema011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wow! This stuff is great. I too cut down the butter, though not QUITE by half. (Instead of 1 cup, I used 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp.) So far I've done watermelon, cran-raspberry, apple, berry blue, and cherry. I have a question for all you more experienced candy makers out there, though. How the heck do I get it to hardball stage without scorching the sugar on the bottom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This one is great! I must admit I was a little leary of gelatin on my popcorn but I admit I have been pleasantly surprised. I like to seperate into batches using different flavored gelatin for a nice layered display in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States