Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
decent flavor. i am more alexis stewart than martha stewart and this was some what of a nightmare for me. i went through 2 pots and 4 pans to do this. yuck. anyway. unless you plan on tearing up your kitchen to do this i'd pass and just buy already made flavored popcorn. tasty but not as good as boughten kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
very Pleased. Kids wanted to make popcorn balls. I didn't have enough corn syrup. I had this recipe saved. Tried it. The kids were happy. Fruit flavor and looked and tasted yummy. I also used 1/2 the butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Terrific! I reduced the butter to 1/3 of what the recipe called for and it worked perfectly still. Used blue rasperry jello and will probably eat the whole batch by this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
So glad I found this recipe! Took the advice of everyone else and used 1/2 c butter and reduced the sugar to 1/2 c. I also added 1/4 tsp. baking soda when I took the candy coating off of the heat. I cooked for 35 minutes at 250, stirring twice. At first I didn't think it would turn out crips and crunchy like I wanted it. It just needed a few minutes to cool off and it was perfect! Brings me back to childhood and I'm so happy to share it with my 4 yr old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I used to make this years ago, but lost my recipe. I've been looking for it forever! Thanks so much - I'm making a batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
So yummy! my neighbor and I made like 10 batches of all different flavors of jello. Then we mixed it all in a big tub and put them in snack size baggies to give out at Halloween. With all the different colors they looked great! Did learn a lot after so many batches: use half the butter and only 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. Let the mixture come to a boil and then boil for 4 minutes STIRRING OFTEN! This was easier than dealing with the candy thermometer for me. This will be a family tradition and I can't wait until my girls are old enough to help make this with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is a fun recipe! I reduced the margarine to 1/2 cup and took MTEDWARDS advice to just let the whole thing boil (keep stirring) for 4 min, then remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp soda. Much easier than messing with a candy thermometer. Oh ya, I also upped the popcorn to about 20 cups, so that it wasn't so sickenly sweet. Still lots of flavor and it turned out nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
The taste is just how I remember it, but the popcorn turned out a little soggy. I had it in a 250* oven at 30 minutes as suggested, but I think next time I'm going to try it as listed in the directions. Hopefully, it will turn out crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colonia, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe like this. I made some today and this is the best recipe so far. I did cut back on the butter and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I LOVE this recipe! It is always a favorite around Halloween and Christmas! All the flavors are good. Although, the grape didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It looked gray and didnt have a real grape taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States