Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Delicious, mom made this when I was a kid 25 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Noting the amounts of sugar to popcorn to butter, I have to wonder if this recipe isn't supposed to read "1 STICK of butter" instead of "1 cup of butter". If one full cup of butter is used, this entire recipe will flop: excess melted butter good on movie theater popcorn, bad for candied/sugared popcorn. So, I made this using 1 stick of butter, no other changes. Perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yum!! I followed the other advice and changed the butter and sugar and added baking soda. We made peach flavored which I thought would be gross, but its really good! I think next time I will make a little less popcorn because it didn't get all covered. Can't wait to try more flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I madethis withgrap Jello brand gelatin. I used only 1 stick of butter and boiled for 4 minutes, added a teensy bit of baking soda. I pured it on the popcorn, baked @300 for 5mins, stirred and bakedfor another 5mins. It turned brown and tasted bad. Barely any grape flavorat all. Actually a little burnt. I am disappointed since my kids love this expensive stuff. I may try again, but may look for antoher recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was very good. I only used about 9 cups of popcorn and like others said, cut the butter in half. I used cherry Jello and you could taste the cherry. I also followed the advice of another reviewer and added baking soda. The result was a crispy dry popcorn that you usually find on boardwalks and at fairs. I also baked it for about 40 minutes and that dried it out even more and made the taste pop. I am anxious to try try other flavors. This will be a good recipe to use at Halloween. I plan on using berry, pineapple, peach, orange and pina colada. I will also make grape but add a few drops of purple food coloring so it does not turn grey. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Just recently made this recipe for a family fun night. I made it just the way it said at first. I love butter, but this was too much b/c the popcorn was pretty soggy. It's also a reallly strong flavor. I think next time I'll take others' advice and cut the butter in half, and I think I'll also cut the gelatin in half too. It has the potential to be really delicious. YOu just have to tweak it to your liking, just like everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's super yummy and relatively easy once you get the hang of it. I've made 10 batches now for 4th of July....cherry and berry blue. (The blue looked more like teal on the popcorn, though...just in case you plan on using blue). I did find that margarine worked just as well as butter (used 1/2 cup as suggested by others) and I didn't need all the sugar..it's sweet enough with just 1/2 cup. Didn't use the thermometer. I just boiled it for 3 minutes & baked it at 250. Very fun and yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This has become a must around our house for road trips, parties, and lazy days- thanks for a great recipe! I do only use 6 Tbs butter, 1/2 cup sugar and just stir boiling for four minutes as reccomended previously. I love that this is crunchy and not sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is great. I actually use this recipe for rice crispy treats. This is always a hit in the kids' classrooms! So easy to make! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States