Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I used only half the butter called for in the recipe (good thing since I wound up eating almost all of it in one day)! It worked just fine, and next time I am going to try cutting back on the sugar. I made green "Shrek" popcorn, and my 6 year old loved it. We sprinkled it with green colored sugar for a little extra "sparkle." Thanks Grandma Berthie, for this fun party recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I was totally new to the idea of making flavored popcorn so I tried a few different recipes. I tried this one, the Kraft Gelatin-based Recipe (on their website), and a traditional crunchy candy coated popcorn recipe available searching the web. This one was the least to our liking. This project is messy, so in my opinion I would opt for the one that produces the best result for the work involved. To me that is a crunchy popcorn kernel with wonderful custom flavor. Gelatin-based recipes tasted, well, gelatinous. THey were gooey, gummy, and stick-in your teeth tacky. The traditional candymaking version which included making a candy coating (sugar, butter, corn syrup, flavored oil) removing the mixture from the heat to add baking soda, coating the popcorn, baking for an hour and stirring periodically produced exactly what I expected. The result was crispy, crunchy, sweet flavored kernels that could be easily broken up before storing. It was just like opening a box of crunchy cracker jacks or Poppycock, except the recipe yielded loads and loads for very little money. To sum up, there are much better recipes out there. This gets two stars for initially peaking my interest in the item and helping to educate me on the process of making my own addictive popcorn snacks, but I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Sorry, but this was nasty.....next time I will dye the butter or something for regular popcorn balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Fun to make and fun to eat. I made a few changes. I took the advice of other reviews and cut the butter in half. Instead of using a thermometer I just brought the mixture to a boil and boiled it for 4 minutes. Then I added 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and baked it at 250 degrees for 1/2 hour, stirring once while baking. This made the popcorn drier and crispier which is the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This one is great! I must admit I was a little leary of gelatin on my popcorn but I admit I have been pleasantly surprised. I like to seperate into batches using different flavored gelatin for a nice layered display in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wow! This stuff is great. I too cut down the butter, though not QUITE by half. (Instead of 1 cup, I used 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp.) So far I've done watermelon, cran-raspberry, apple, berry blue, and cherry. I have a question for all you more experienced candy makers out there, though. How the heck do I get it to hardball stage without scorching the sugar on the bottom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Very messy to work with but fun. I made this with my niece and it really sugared her up! She spent more time licking the gelatin off her fingers. My dad, who is not keen to sweet things, had more than three helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulema011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
very simple to make, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I love this! I made it for my dad for a father's day treat. It tastes great mixed with other popcorn recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I reduced the butter as suggested by other reviewers. This was really good I ended up doing three batches of green apple, watermelon, and berry blue. Mixed all together and yum. I think it was easier to mix in a big bowl first though, the popcorn was coated better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States