Gelatin Spritz Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Okay, I could only use what I had in the pantry. So I had to adapt this recipe. I didn't have butter so I used coconut oil and twice the amount. I only had unflavored gelatin so I added 3 tsp vanilla extract. I added an extra egg..still too dry. I didn't have a mixer, so I mixed with a spoon and then rolled the mix into balls which I flattened in my hand and them dipped in confectionery sugar. I cooked for 10 min ...I caught them in time that they didn't burn. Considering I was desperate for a cookie and I didn't have the exact ingredients, these were a nice soft cookie that melted in your mouth good. Hit the spot. I think with butter they would've been awesome, but the coconut oil wasn't half bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I really liked the ones I made with strawberry jello. I did not like the ones made from lime. Would be very good with raspberry I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Okay, but just okay. If you are not a cookie baker, this is a quick shortcut to a psuedo spritz cookie. However, your ingredients are better used elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I have never made anything other than chocolate chip cookies before and that was with a pre-made batter. Great recipe and better than any store bought that I have ever had. Keeper for the making. Ingredients and cook time right on. Nummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these cookies with a few alterations. First, I doubled the amount of gelatin (I used strawberry) for a more intense flavor. Second, I didnt use a cookie press, I just flattened slightly with the bottom of a glass. I lowered my oven temp to 375, and baked for 7 min. They turned out perfect. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
They turn out perfect every year! The dough presses well and is easy to work with. I do add a little food coloring and substitute vanilla for lime, or what ever flavor gelatin for a bolder taste, but it is not necessary. I have also used the sugar free Gelatins and they work well too. They are always a favorite on my cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bgexotics
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these since I find most cookie press recipes to be dry and boring and was very impressed with the results. I actually added just a tiny bit on lemon lime koolaid mix too since I wanted a stronger lime flavor. The cookies were tasty and not too dry, they disappeared very quickly when I took them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This made a LOT of cookies, which is great...I used orange gelatin mix and added a tsp. of orange extract to kick it up a little...Next time I think I am going to use pineapple jello and coconut extract for a pina colada type cookie...these are disappearing as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Its a neat idea to use jello, but even with sugar sprinkled on top its not too sweet or flavorful. I left them in for 6 minutes. You need to wait until they cool completely because they're a little soft inside at first. I made them in the shape of flowers with my cookie press, and they make pretty pink cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Only two stars because as easy as these cookies are to make they lack a lot of flavour. I used a whole box of strawberry gelatin, plus 1/4 tsp strawberry extract and then rolled them in more strawberry gelatin before baking and they still lacked the intense flavour I was looking for. I don't own a fancy cookie press so I refrigerated my dough, rolled in balls (tossed in gelatin) and flattened with a plate. Don't cook for more than 7 minutes or else they get to brown and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States