Gelatin Spritz Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Okay, I could only use what I had in the pantry. So I had to adapt this recipe. I didn't have butter so I used coconut oil and twice the amount. I only had unflavored gelatin so I added 3 tsp vanilla extract. I added an extra egg..still too dry. I didn't have a mixer, so I mixed with a spoon and then rolled the mix into balls which I flattened in my hand and them dipped in confectionery sugar. I cooked for 10 min ...I caught them in time that they didn't burn. Considering I was desperate for a cookie and I didn't have the exact ingredients, these were a nice soft cookie that melted in your mouth good. Hit the spot. I think with butter they would've been awesome, but the coconut oil wasn't half bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I really liked the ones I made with strawberry jello. I did not like the ones made from lime. Would be very good with raspberry I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Okay, but just okay. If you are not a cookie baker, this is a quick shortcut to a psuedo spritz cookie. However, your ingredients are better used elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I have never made anything other than chocolate chip cookies before and that was with a pre-made batter. Great recipe and better than any store bought that I have ever had. Keeper for the making. Ingredients and cook time right on. Nummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these cookies with a few alterations. First, I doubled the amount of gelatin (I used strawberry) for a more intense flavor. Second, I didnt use a cookie press, I just flattened slightly with the bottom of a glass. I lowered my oven temp to 375, and baked for 7 min. They turned out perfect. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
They turn out perfect every year! The dough presses well and is easy to work with. I do add a little food coloring and substitute vanilla for lime, or what ever flavor gelatin for a bolder taste, but it is not necessary. I have also used the sugar free Gelatins and they work well too. They are always a favorite on my cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bgexotics
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these since I find most cookie press recipes to be dry and boring and was very impressed with the results. I actually added just a tiny bit on lemon lime koolaid mix too since I wanted a stronger lime flavor. The cookies were tasty and not too dry, they disappeared very quickly when I took them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This made a LOT of cookies, which is great...I used orange gelatin mix and added a tsp. of orange extract to kick it up a little...Next time I think I am going to use pineapple jello and coconut extract for a pina colada type cookie...these are disappearing as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Secaucus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Its a neat idea to use jello, but even with sugar sprinkled on top its not too sweet or flavorful. I left them in for 6 minutes. You need to wait until they cool completely because they're a little soft inside at first. I made them in the shape of flowers with my cookie press, and they make pretty pink cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Only two stars because as easy as these cookies are to make they lack a lot of flavour. I used a whole box of strawberry gelatin, plus 1/4 tsp strawberry extract and then rolled them in more strawberry gelatin before baking and they still lacked the intense flavour I was looking for. I don't own a fancy cookie press so I refrigerated my dough, rolled in balls (tossed in gelatin) and flattened with a plate. Don't cook for more than 7 minutes or else they get to brown and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States