Gelatin Spritz Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I have made these three years in a row for our school cookie sale, they are a big hit. For Christmas I use strawberry and lime, but with the lime I need to add a little more food coloring to get that Chirstmas green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I wasn't sure how these cookies would turn out because of the mixed reviews, but overall, they turned out pretty good. I used orange flavored jello and made orange pumpkins for Halloween, decorated with colored sugar. My cookies had an overly buttery flavor to them, which put me off, but everyone else seemed to like them. I also agree with other reviewers that they spread too much, probably because of the extreme amount of butter. I think I will probably use at least a 1/2 stick less of butter next time. But, nonetheless, there will be a next time. I think I'm gong to try lime green X-mas trees as part of my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
They were OK, I think I just prefer vanilla or anise or almond flavor spritz cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
this was absolutely great! i have looking for an orange cookie recipe that my son actually liked. i used orange jello. my son loved it! i don't recommend this as a drop cookie, it looks pretty ugly. but very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I liked these cookies, but I have a question for those whose cookies did not turn out. Did you use sugar free jello? If you did, nutrasweet does not bake well, and that may be why your cookies did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I made these last year for Christmas and had no problems making them in my new cookie press. It was my first time ever making spritz cookies. I came back this year looking for this recipe to make them again. I made green lime Christmas trees and yellow lemon stars. I also sprinkled on colored sugar before baking them. I was hesitant at making these, but I am glad I did. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
These cookies are delicious! I made the recipie with my new cookie press, and friends and family members are still raving about it six weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
With all the varieties of flavored gelatin on the market these cookies can be very versatile. Bright colors as well as wonderful flavors. My kids really enjoyed helping make these cookies and they also enjoyed eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe! I made this with my cookie press using the heart shape & strawberry jello for a Valentine Banquet. They turned out great. They look & tasted wonderful! I also sprinked them with red sugar before baking. It made a ton too. Try it you won't be dissapointed. I used margarine not butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I was scared to make these at first, because I had planned on using my new cookie press and people said they didn't work with the press very well. But I was brave and tried them. They were awesome! I made cute little strawberry hearts for a bridal shower. They were gone instantly, and it made a ton! I will DEFINATELY use this recipe again. Thanks Kathy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States