Gelatin Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I love it. My grandma and mom used to make it a lot growing up. I make it with strawberry jello. Then I mix one small tub of strawberry cream cheese with one tub of cool whip to makes an amazing frosting for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
A definite family favorite! Good with many combinations of cake flavors and gelatin flavors. An unusual one is spice cake poked with coffee gelatin, spread over top with chocolate pudding, and frosted with cool whip or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
we do a lemon cake mix, use butter ( real butter) instead of oil, add I more egg than box calls for, and add 1 pkg of lemon instant pudding (dry) bake it as called for on box, then use lemon jello, we use a kabob sticks to make the holes, then I put 1/3 lemon icing with a tub of cool whip to frost it... my family LOVES THIS and its sweet but not so bad my husband still likes it, I have also done this with orange creamsicle cake mix, orange pudding and orange jello....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Made a lemon cake and used lime jello to pour over the cake. Frosted with lemon dream whip frosting which is made by beating 1 (3.9 oz.) lemon instant pudding, 1 envelope of Dream Whip, and 11/2 cups of milk until stiff. Keep refrigerated. Nice summer dessert. UPDATE-next time I will double the jello because I didn't feel there was enough to fill in the holes but will probably only use about 1 1/2 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I rated this a 4 because of the Whip Cream. I am not a big fan of Whip Cream so I make this cake w/Pistachio Pudding for the frosting. It's a popular cake at family gatherings. I usually use strawberry/banana jello since that is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
not sweet enough for my family....would use bigger object to poke holes in the cake- like an unsharpened pencil covered with plastic- the gelatin didnt fall deep enough into the cake. It was "ok" but I dont think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
use 2 pkgs of Jell-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Yum!! A light summer dessert. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Oh yes! Tastes like summer. Cool, not too sweet and so easy to make. Lots of jello and cake combinations. I made it with strawberry cake and strawberry jello for a party recently. This went faster than the fancy cupcakes someone else brought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This cake is so easy, it feels like you're cheating, but it tastes great and it's perfect for summer! I made it with raspberry jello. It was a huge hit with my sister's boyfriend, who apparently doesn't usually like desserts! It's easy to customize using your favorite flavor of gelatin. I haven't tried it with fresh berries on top, but I bet it would be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States