Gelatin Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
If you like divinity, this is the recipe to use. Using Jello helps the divinity to set up better and it adds a nice flavor to the candy. Beware! This is a very sweet candy. We never make more than a single batch at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I've never really tried divinity before this recipe. I used black cherry jello mix and it came out like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Not the divinity I am used to, being from Ga. but more of a salt water taffy consistency. Maybe I didn't beat the mixture enough, it's still a tiny bit glossy but my electric beater sounded like it was going to blow so I stopped. I may add salt next time and create a salt water taffy. PS: I left out nuts for the kids. Overall 5 stars, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeKe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the same recipe that my grandmother used. She passed many years ago when I was still in grade school and I have tried several times to make this. Thank you so much for bringing me back to a christmas tradition that I have missed for so long. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars for ease of preparation and texture, but know that it will taste like jello since you are using gelatin to flavor it. I made a double batch of cherry and had a blast whipping it up and prying it out of the bowl. I used a dry wooden spatula to spread it better in the pan (I used 2 cookie sheets) once it set slightly. The next time I made a batch of cherry, I put several drops of peppermint oil in the boiling sugar mixture. As far as cutting and packaging this candy, I've cut into squares and I've also handrolled small tubes using confectioner sugar coated hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wonderful divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This came out very chalky. I used a candy thermometer and have made candy before but I don't know what happened. Not gonna try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nscoober2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
oh wow. I just got finished fighting this out of the mixing bowl and it is delicious! although quite the sticky confection, it is really tasty - reminds me slightly of saltwater taffy without the salt mixed with marshmallows...I guess I'm just a northerner new to divinity, but it is definately an entirely new type of candy to be made in my kitchen. I used sugarfree cherry jell o and it made no difference (obviously, since there's three cups of sugar already!). I'm already considering a batch of lime... So I have learned that I don't like divinity after it has set. it's just too sweet for my taste, as well as everyone else in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Lauren

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was just OK for me. It was VERY sweet. I may not be used to divinity though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holtsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I made it with lime gelatin, and also with raspberry. Both taste fantastic. As a newbie to candy making, I was not too sure about the whipping "until the candy loses its gloss," so each batch I made came out a little different texture-wise. But all the candy was deliciously edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JELL-O Creepy Crawly JIGGLERS

See how to turn JELL-O gelatin into frightfully fun Halloween spiders.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Sliced Watermelon Jell-O® Shots

See how to super-fun watermelon Jell-O shots. They’re cute with a kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States