Gefilte Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very tasty! It took me about an hour to assemble the fish mixture and by then it was too late for me too cook so I popped the stock and mixture into the fridge to work on in the morning. I ended up with 46 "loaves." Next time I will scale down the recipe as I have 16 people over for first seder and 4 people for the second. I also omitted the ice water. If you like salt, you might want to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is an easy recipe, although it is time consuming. Worth it for the taste and ability to change up for your own preferences. After reading the recipe, it became apparent that it is flexible for seasoning, and type of fish. I used halibut and cod and added more salt and paprika. I was heavy on the onion because I love onion, but next time will use less. Next time I will use salmon and halibut since that is what we have a lot of in our freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Just finished cooking the first batch...awesome recipe. My fish combo was a bit different, but all measurements were the same...but doubled. Im sure my guests will enjoy it at the seder tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Nice easy recipe. Tastes great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Primadonamama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
The Gefilte Fish in a jar at the store are repulsive... this is not and well worth the effort. I made this today for Rosh Hashanah. the basic recipe is solid. You can revise the fishes however you want. i used primarily salmon and the flavor was lovely. I added broth cubes to it for a bit more flavor and more salt because it was lacking a bit. loved the texture and flavor. I also added in quite a bit more matzo meal to get the right consistency and omitted most of the water. everyone enjoyed it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This recipe is great and easy if you have a food processor. I used red snapper, salmon and cod for the fish and I added a little more spice (for a little more kick). They come out a beautiful pink color....just enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Needs more onions, salt, sugar, and matzoh meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
The technique worked just fine, and I'm glad to have a basis for making gefilte fish in the future. However, there were a couple of problems with this recipe, and I would not make it again for the following reasons: 1) very very bland. It tastes just barely decent with a good dose of horseradish, but it needed more salt and/or flavor. Next time I would try some marjoram or cinnamon, even if that departs with tradition. 2) far more problematic, the amounts are WAY off, unless by '8 servings' they meant '32 pieces of gefilte fish.' I bought appr. 4 pounds of ground fish, and it made about 40 servings. Certainly not 8. I would have made only half the recipe had I known!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States