Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is a lovely base recipe which benefits from a few adjustments: -Save yourself some work: you can chop the vegetables (except the garlic) fairly coarsely, since they're all going in the blender/food processor anyway. -Blanch the tomatoes (it's quite easy) and remove their skins before chopping them into the mixture. Otherwise, your guests will find themselves picking bits of tomato skin out from between their teeth. -Seed the cucumbers before chopping -Saute the garlic in olive oil for about a minute, and add both garlic and oil to the mixture. (I dislike using raw garlic in anything, because it tends to add an unpleasant bite even in minute quantities) -Cut sugar down to 1/2 tsp -Substitute extra fresh tomatoes for 1 cup of the tomato juice -Skip tarragon -Skip green onions For garnish: -Minced red bell pepper -Fresh parsley -Chopped hard-boiled egg (very practical of the folks in Andalucia to add protein) On the side: We had some leftover polenta, which I sprinkled with shaved parmesan and served with the gazpacho instead of the usual crusty bread + ham. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is a great healthy find! I went the easy route and used a can of diced tomatoes and it still tasted great. I also added a jalapeno pepper for kick, replaced the tarragon with cilantro, and omitted the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I really liked this tasty quick and easy recipe using ingredients usually on hand. I subbed out cilantro for tarragon and added hot sauce to kick it up. I preferred this version of gazpacho over others on this site because using the same ingredients as garnishes was pointless and topped mine with broken tortilla chips. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Delish. I always add a small can of chopped green chilies and 2 avocados, one blended and one chopped. I use only a small amount of the tomato juice when blending just half the veggies, this keeps the finished soup from being too muddy. Then use the alligator chopper on the rest of the veggies to have a chunky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I have used this recipe for several years. I offer crusty warm bread with it, and it is a hit! If you cut the receipe down, you can make this in a cocktail shaker, and serve it in a Martini Glass with a slice of lime.. makes a great brunch soup! And everyone is so impressed with how you served it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by north

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I have made gazpacho in the past but my husband has never been a fan. I decided to try this recipe and it was a hit! It doesn't have any oil in it so its just the wonderful different flavors from all the veggies and spices mixing. I now make this and put it in a pitcher in the fridge. Now, whenever we want something healthy and cool, it's available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was fantastic! Summer vegetables from the garden always makes me yearn for Gaspacho and this recipe didn't let me down. I only changed a few things: I don't care for vinegar, so I substituted 2 Tblsp of Worcestershire sauce and I like my Gaspacho crunchy, so I added two ribs of sliced celery. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was great! Blanched tomatoes to remove skin first and subbed cilantro for parsley. Also garnished with a little sour cream. I made this after a trip to the farmer's market so all the vegetables were ripe and delicious. I used the pulse feature on the blender so it stayed a little chunky. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
OK, I made the mistake of scaling this recipe down for 1 person. And made it again the next day! Left out the bell pepper, but I always do, and it was fabulous! Even the leftover leftovers! They're all gone now, so I have to make it again. (Thank goodness I used this recipe to try out my new food processor!) Loved it! Perfect for Phoenix in July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I think this is absolutely yummy! I used Spicy V8 juice for the tomato juice, used fresh herbs including cilantro and omitted the green pepper. Also, put a little lemon rind in with the juice. It was so good. Will make again! (maybe tonight...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDNICONNALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States