Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
A great base recipe! I made a few changes to suit my taste and needs. 3 cups V-8, 1/2 of a small onion and pepper, used 2 cloves garlic, subbed balsamic vinegar for red wine, omitted tarragon, used fresh basil, and subbed cilantro for parsley. Also added a tsp sea salt. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I normally think gazpacho is a little too close to eating salsa out of the jar, but this was wonderful. The texture was perfect after pulsing in a food processor a few times in one batch, and keeping some of the vegetables more coarsely chopped. I will make this again, but next time with about 1 cup less tomato juice as it was a bit "muddy" as one poster put it. Great with a couple of diced jalapeños and green chiles. My favorite gazpacho so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Wonderful dish. I followed it to the letter, and it turned out perfectly. Make sure to choose ripe ingredients, and especially the sweetest tomatoes you can find. Next time I think I'll try spicing it up with a bit more garlic and adding some hot pepper, just because I love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathen Hausfrau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very easy and flavorful. I added some chili oil and cayenne to kick up the heat, which is wonderful in this cold soup. Make sure you chill it thoroughly (it's just not the same at room temp) and eat it outside in the sun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Easy dinner on a warm summer night. I substituted lime for the lemon, fresh cilantro for tarragon, added a banana pepper & a few splashes of hot sauce. I topped with sauteed shrimp & avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I love this!! I make it all the time and I never get sick of it! I cheat and use 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I don't add any tomato juice and it's still soupy enough for me. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I am not a huge fan of cold soups, but this summer I've been wanting gazpacho and have been looking for a recipe that looked "safe" (since I'm picky). This recipe is definitely a keeper. Modifications: I halved the recipe, used V8 instead of plain tomato juice (for extra veggie flavor), canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh and left out the tarragon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
halved the recipe and used one can(26oz) of whole peeled tomatoes instead of tomato juice and chopped tomatoes(about 24oz combined). tomato juice tastes too artificial to me. also used yellow pepper to make it more colorful and added 5 tbsp of parsley instead of 2 in halved recipe. this recipe is a true keeper. so easy, tasty & refreshing. served with chickpea salad over a bed of baby spanich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
A number of years ago I would go to a small restaurant here once a week for gazpacho. This recipe was close to the one I loved. I did use 1/2 spicy v8 and 1/2 reg. v8, and added small amount of dill and chives. I do NOT blend it at all! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This tasted fine after I adjusted the seasonings. I thought it was a little bland, so I added a lot more herbs. It tasted better, but the red color definitely took on a brownish cast. The onion was a little overpowering, in both flavor and texture, so I will use less next time. I will keep this on hand for snacking, it just wasn't wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States