Gazpacho Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I found it a little bland so I added more jalapeno and a little hot salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes and I make it exactly like the recipe says. I do toss the pasta with oil right after I drain it, which might help reduce the absorption of the dressing. It's important to use canned tomato juice (such as Campbell's) because it's thicker. When I use the leftover liquid/juice from a can of tomatoes, the dressing isn't good. One time I was eating this for lunch and my friend said it smelled "so good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this recipe but i didn't have any Tomato juice so I doctored it up a little by making a more runny tomato sauce with spices, tomato paste and water. I still used 6 oz's but it came out great!!! And I used more lime juice than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Great dish. I also added the cilantro and used V8, but I think next time, I will puree the onions and peppers b/c I like the taste it gives to the pasta, but don't like biting into them (not skilled enough to chop them that small).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT! I made a couple changes like others suggested. I doubled this recipe for a small group and had lots left over but my sister wanted a bunch of it for lunch. Instead of fresh tomatoes (not in season now), I used a can of Rotelle - "Milder" and a 16 oz jar of mild salsa, then I left out the tomato juice, jalepeno and bell pepper (my bro-in-law is allergic). I might add more lime juice next time since it added such a good flavor but could have been a little stronger in my opinion - I LOVE citrus flavor. I loved the cucumber in this. I seeded it first and that might not have been necessary. But it cuts the spiciness wonderfully. LOTS of compliments and requests for this recipe. Storing this one in my recipe box! Thanks! Oh, I also used 1/2 red onion diced finely instead of green onion. A tad sweeter in my opinion. I made this again for 4th of July and made a couple changes. I used a jar of salsa and one tomato. Used the green onions this time since I had them and they were GREAT. Also used 1/2 bunch of cilantro since that flavor is so good. It's MUCH better the second day so make ahead. I can't imagine anyone saying this is bland. The salsa might be the key. The best pasta salad I've ever made or eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Nice & summer-y with the tomatoes & cucumbers! We had the left-overs with parm. cheese- also very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was looking for a change from the usual mayo based salads and decided on this since we love Gazpacho soup. From past experience I cut the amount of jalapeno which we believe to be a wise decision. I also used V8 juice (or a good Bloody Mary mix would work) and that gave it more of a taste. I used more juice than called for as experience has taught pasta absorbs liquid and with the amount given it was going to really soak in. Finally I added a touch more salt as that balances the lime a bit better, and added fresh chopped basil, flat leaf parsley, and cilantro. This passed the 'husband review' with flying colours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I made the recipe as written, except for deleting the bell pepper, which I don't like, and omitting the tomato sauce, which another reviewer recommended. I also added sliced avocado to the top - a great addition. It seemed to be missing something in the flavor. I think next time I will add some freshly shaved parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO704

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I recommend adding more seasoning. We added Greek seasoning at the table, and it was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
this is a hit with all of my family. it is especially good with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States