Gazpacho II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
GREAT BASE RECIPE! I read all the other reviews and made the following changes, suggested by others: 1. Used V8 instead of tomato juice 2. No oil 3. Added garlic into the the soup 4. Did not puree the vegetables, but finely minced them instead (for a chunkier soup). My own addition was to add CILANTRO (about a 1/2 cup). I think I might have also upped the hot sauce a smidge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This gazpacho calls for far, far too much oil. I am not a lowfat diehard, but after eating this I am convinced that the called-for amount has got to be a typo. As written, the soup is very greasy, which is a bad texture in cold soup. I suggest cutting the oil to a few tablespoons. Start with two: you can always add more if you wish. I do think this recipe has potential, and will try it again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flannery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I first got tried gazpacho in Mallorca and just loved it. This is the closest recipe I have found to it. The first time I made this recipe I followed it to a T but found it tasted to much like canned tomatoes. I now substitute about 8 roma tomatoes instead of the 2 cans of tomato juice and find it tastes much better and fresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blonay, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Important fact to remember about this classic soup;-the best gazpacho is always made with the freshest ingredients... Having said that, this would have to rank as the best soup in the world. Yes, you can use V8 in a pinch, (I have), but there's nothing like juicy Roma tomatoes as the base. An extra touch for presentation: add 1 ice cube to soup bowl just before serving. !Viva Gazpacho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Fantastic soup! I would recommend substituting more fresh tomatoes for the tomato juice. Add more veggies and try to not puree too much if you enjoy a "chunkier" soup. Also, flavored store bought croutons work fine - I added the garlic directly to the soup instead and that was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Great recipe. I used a red bell pepper,added cilantro and a diced jalapeno. I used no oil, it doesn't need it. I used V8 regular and V8 spicy. Will make again for sure. Served it with toasted slices of ciabatta bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
with a little nudgin' in ANY direction, this becomes YOUR favorite cold soup! Just as some read music, YOU read this recipe, get set for deluge of requests from friends you've made the mistake of givin' some to! You can add, substract, double, eliminate, prod, poke, stir and sample, and NO matter what you do, it's better than you THOUGHT! I moosh up bell pepper, GREEN onions, RED onion slices, cucumber in blender with vegetable juic (don't gotta be V-8, but if yer rich, go for it) and fresh-squoze lime juice, then add to stuff I've already done, then add HALF a beer to it and YUMM, eye-opener to make ANY cloudy day fill with sunshine, roadrunner "meep-meeps"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I have made this several times for parties and even the sceptic of cold soup could not get enough of the gazpacho II. A huge hit every time! One thing I did do different was use V8 juice instead of the tomato juice just to give it a bit more zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong but this soup was awful, I couldn't finish my bowl and we threw away the leftovers. It tasted like tomato and cucumber juice. Ick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Was searching for something to match that a my favorite restaurant and this did it! Thank you this great and easy recipe. We made 2 minor changes. The store had no chives, so we just skipped them. We used V-8 instead of regular tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States