Gazpacho Andaluz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Reminds me of Spain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hataxa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe is wonderfull without changing anything except the water, I just put water enough to move the tomatoes in the mixer. My husband is from Andalucia & he loves it in hot summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I followed it exactly except for the water and bread. This recipe definitely doesn't need 8 cups of water. DON'T ADD WATER AT ALL!!!! If this recipe didn't have it I'm sure it would be a flawless five. As for the bread, I probably used less than 1/3 of a loaf of french bread, that was completely stale. The bread added a creaminess to it, so I would definitely add it again. Oh, and I also added a red pepper too, as another reviewer said to add. Too bad good tomatoes only come in the summer! I'd be a size two in record time! I could live off this soup, it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Was looking to try a quick Gazpacho recipe and very pleased with this one. Didn't have time to go get flavorful tomatoes from the garden/farm (living in center of the city!) so I used 2 boxes (26oz) Pomi tomatoes (crushed). Turned out well (in my opinion). Used a yellow bell pepper instead of green (that's what I had on hand). Also, didn't add water or bread. Added a little extra garlic. Also, threw some basil and cilantro in the food processor as well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kaminski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This had good flavor and the wine vinegar is a must. However, I thought I could substitute the French bread for a whole wheat kind but it gives it a grainy texture. I would suggest using white bread next time so you get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I wanted something to take me back to my month in Spain and this was it. It's even better the second day. Five stars. My only changes: use a red pepper instead of green and adjust the amount you make because I had gazpacho coming out of my ears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwaggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Gazpacho is different anywhere you get it. This recipe makes a nice creamy base. I like my gazpacho thicker so it was perfect for me. Tips: Just use your blender or food processor in batches. No need to dirty a stock pot. Pour the olive oil over the bread before blending and leave out the water except for a couple ice cubes right before you serve it. I doubled the garlic, halved the bread and it made a very nice smooth texture with a body capable of supporting chopped fresh vegetable garnish. Fantastic fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckykris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brynn
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
i don't know how many modifications i'm allowed to state before it officially becomes a different recipe entirely! :) a small backstory: i had the best gazpacho of my life at the (then) sheraton in key largo. (never been to spain however i've eaten in a number of spanish restaurants) i've been trying to replicate it ever since. -used 8 tomatoes, skins removed but seeds intact -NO water -1/2 cuke is all i had -2 cloves of garlic -handful of cilantro -no green peppers on hand, used 1/2 of a yellow and 1/2 of a orange -no french bread on hand, used the "heels" of an old rye loaf instead; just the two small pieces -reduced to 1 tsp olive oil -about 1/4 cup regular white vinegar -about 1/2 tsp salt -added a jalepeno pepper ...and then blended the whole lot with a cuisinart hand blender (love that thing!). other than that, i followed the recipe. :) definitely some gazpacho i can stand behind! i think reducing (or eliminating) both the water and amount of bread allowed the tomato flavors to come out. definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Not sure what I ate last week, but it wasn't that good. Very little flavor and very mealy from all the bread. Perhaps that if one has had gazpacho from spain, there is a base knowledge of what it's supposed to be like, so tinkering with it isn't a mystery. I also think there's a lack of clear direction in this recipe. Tasted ok once i dumped a lot of garlic powder in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
this looked and was the same consistency as the gazpacho I ate in spain - but it wasn't garlicky enough... it was very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States