Gaye's Microwave Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Such disappointment. I don't know what happened. I was making this for my Christmas spread and it never firmed up. It was one chocolate gelatinous mess. Tasted decent but I could never serve it to anyone. Now I have to make something else for my candy tray. Big bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years. A few said it came out a little too soupy and cuts up thin. I have made a few changes and it comes out great. I cut the stick of butter or stick margarine at the 6 Tablespoon mark and I add 2 Tablespoons of cocoa to the 1/2 half cup. So a little more powder and a little less butter and I use a buttered loaf pan instead of the 8 x 8 pan so get thick pieces of fudge. I get all ingredients ready and put the milk and butter in the microwave 2 minutes, then quickly add the 4 cups of powdered sugar (which is the same as a one 1 lb box), the cocoa and vanilla. Stir well. Once it has all been stirred well, I sometimes add 1/2 cup of chopped nuts or swirl a few heaping tablespoons of peanut butter in (don't mix the peanut butter into the fudge, just swirl a bit so it is evenly distributed). Refrigerate until firm enough to cut. I use a thick knife to deeply cut down into the fudge & cut longways in half, then half again, then across into squares. Dig one corner out first, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I gave this two stars because 1) yes, it hits the spot for a sweet tooth, 2) mine never firmed up, was very mushy, almost needed a spoon to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATH1973

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I gave this a 4 star because it is VERY VERY GOOD. It has been an hour and it is still Really soft, it tastes like brownie dough. I added walnuts to it as well. Hopefully it will set up overnight. Also it is VERY thin. You may want to make a double or even a triple batch to be thick like fudge. Ok December 17th 2009 Made it again and it was perfect!!!! I did add a little bit more Powdered sugar and siffted it and the cocoa. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed this recipe and used margarine instead of butter...and it turned out to be a pan of fudge soup...was it the use of margarine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Decent recipe. I made one batch exactly the way the recipe stated. It tasted okay, but the fudge was hard to cut, a little lumpy, and crumbly. I made the second batch with the suggestions of others. I sifted the flour and cocoa together in one bowl, and melted the milk and butter together in another. I then poured the milk/butter and vanilla into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mixed. This fudge came out much creamier than the first batch. The only complaint I have is that the fudge does not come out very thick. I used an 8x8 pan and the fudge wasn't even 1/2" high. The batter was also very hard to pour and spread - I suspect the recipe needs some more liquid ingredients. The fudge is good, but it defintely doesn't taste like real chocolate fudge. Good for just a sweet bite though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rueishness

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
this was so good and simple it tastes just like traditional but without all th work. I think we should all try it it took about 5 minutes to make and 15 to harden this was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
So easy! So good! People love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is quick and easy and my hubby loved it. Beats standing over the stove!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I really like no-fail fudge recipes like this this one. Especially when it turns out! This came together so fast I was shocked that the end result was so good! It was very chocolaty and really sweet - which means a little piece goes a long way! It was surprisingly creamy and set up perfectly. I did line my pan before pouring the fudge in for easier removal. I will definitely make this again and even try experimenting with different flavours of extract - like orange or raspberry. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States