Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I used left-over shredded chicken for this recipe. This burrito is very filling and does remind me of a burrito you would find in a Mexican restaurant. I used fresh tortillas from Costco. For those of you having trouble finding the hot tomato sauce, look for the words "Salsa di Chile Fresco" on the bright yellow cans by El Pato, in the Mexican isle of your store. The cans are marked in both English and Spanish but sometimes the store faces the can with the Spanish side out, so you might be missing the product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
These were really good and easy to make. I never heard of hot tomato sauce, so I used 1 can of regular sauce and then filled the can with salsa and added that. I used frozen corn b/c that is what I had. I wrapped the burritos and baked them with a little cheese on the inside and more sprinkled on top. Served with sour cream and hot sauce on the side. Also used whole wheat tortillas. Loved them and will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are really good when made as directed. My store had the hot tomato sauce so I lucked out. I hope others try it, without amending the recipe, you wont be disappointed. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i was amazed at how good these turned out! i was really skeptical because there is not any seasoning or other ingredients to give the burritos a mexican-type flavor, but somehow they tasted perfectly spiced and just like a full fat beef burrito would! i couldn't find hot tomato sauce, so i used regular tomoto sauce and about 1/4c of frank's red hot sauce to give it some spice. i think i could have used even more, too. i ate these in warmed flour tortillas and my hubby enjoyed them in crispy taco shells. either way i was so impressed with this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Delicious and a great recipe for freezing! I used whole wheat tortillas and a small can of tom. sauce and a can of tomatoes+diced chiles plus a dash of hot sauce and cumin. Also, frozen corn instead of canned. I wrapped the burritos in foil and froze them (minus the sour cream, serve it on the side). When it was time to eat, just placed them in a baking dish, in the foil still, for about 30 min at 350 degrees. Yummy, and the kids agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataboutdinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Delicious! The only change I made was because I didn't have hot sauce so I used a jar of medium salsa plus 4 oz of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
do not make any changes, Ro Tel tomatoes and green pepper is great, the real tomatoe can be found in most grocery stores under the El Pato brand. I have found the sauce in Wal Mart and the specialty foods sections in all stores here in North Carolina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles B. Simpson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Quick & easy to make. The burrito's were very good, my husband took the left overs to work. Definitely a keeper. I made them just as the recipe entailed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! We loved these burritos! I had to modify slightly because I couldn't find hot tomato sauce... used one can regular tomato sauce, one can Rotel, one can diced green chilis, and some chili powder. I also added cumin to the mixture. I took the advice of another reviewer and baked the burritos for about 5 minutes to make them nice and crispy. Very, very good... this is a 'make-again'. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States