Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes now for my family. It is easy to make up a bunch to freeze individually for a quick meal-just heat up in the microwave. I use regular tomato sauce so the kids will eat them (they LOVE them!). I have used black beans but I think the original refried beans taste the best. I also use the frozen roasted corn from trader joes for a delicious smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very yummy. Used the tomato sauce with hot sauce added since I also coulnd't find the hot tomato sauce, and added a ton of hot sauce, some chili powder, jalapenos, and red pepper flakes. Still wasn't enough heat for us, but still want to make again and again. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Oh wow, these were so simple yet so delicious! I think the concensus is that no one can find hot tomato sauce. I used the two cans of regular tomato sauce and added a generous amount of texax pete. As another reviewer did, I assembled the burritos minus the sour cream and baked them in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes, then spread the sour cream on top. The cheese was melty and the shell a little crisp. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Like others, I couldn't find the tomato sauce. What I did instead was spice up the turkey meat with chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, cayenne, cilantro, and crushed red peppers. I added some hot sauce to the regular tomato sauce as well. I put cheese on top and melted it for a bit in the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Good but not mind blowing... I checked 3 stores in my area and just could not find hot tomato sauce, so I was stuck with diced tomatoes and chiles... It was good, it was eaten... :) Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love to make burritos for my lunches. I individually wrap them and then freeze. I left out the onion, refried beans and sour cream. I added a can of garbanzo beans and lots of Tabasco. I also added garlic powder, rosemary and lots of black pepper. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I had ground chicken and was looking for a new recipe to try--I am so glad I found this one. Other things I did differently: I used refried black beans with lime. I used regular tomato sauce with few dashes of Cholula. (note that you only need 14 ounces of tomato sauce. I almost opened two 15 ounce cans.) I took another reviewer's suggestion and baked them without the sour cream for about 8 minutes to get the ingredients melted and the tortillas crispy. I topped them off with sour cream combined with fresh chopped cilantro. This recipe made 9 burritos using 8" tortillas. I flash-froze the remaining assembled burritos for another night. Yum! Thank you, Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made these a couple of weeks ago for dinner and with the exception of my four-year-old, we all loved them! I used Rotelle tomatoes in place of the hot tomato sauce like another reviewer suggested, simply because I already had them. I also used refried black beans with lime! Yum! Definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I used left-over shredded chicken for this recipe. This burrito is very filling and does remind me of a burrito you would find in a Mexican restaurant. I used fresh tortillas from Costco. For those of you having trouble finding the hot tomato sauce, look for the words "Salsa di Chile Fresco" on the bright yellow cans by El Pato, in the Mexican isle of your store. The cans are marked in both English and Spanish but sometimes the store faces the can with the Spanish side out, so you might be missing the product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States