Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has become a new favorite of mine! It is so simple and inexpensive to make, yet it produces a delicious, healthy meal. I didn't have to add any seasoning with the exception of my liking it spicy. I added a big squirt of my favorite chili sauce - Sriracha Chili Sauce - to spice it up. I have made this dish twice in the past two weeks, and froze some for later. Even with such great results as it is, this recipe can be altered to suit everyone's palate (add black beans, cilantro, etc.). I found the hot tomato sauce in the "Mexican" food section. The cans are small and the brand I bought was El Pato (yellow can). I highly recommend using this sauce, as I will now be using it in other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These are SO good! We adjusted a few things, added diced chiles to the turkey mixture, along with regular tomato sauce and then used hot sauce so we could control the temp. Also, I baked them for about 20 minutes at 350, then added a colby/monterey cheese mix for the last 5 minutes. Served with homeade guacamole, sr cream and salsa. All the boys loved it! Will be keeping this one, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I've made these several times now. The whole family loves them. We add a few Mexican spices to the turkey (not too much because we have a toddler). I really like the texture of the corn and refried beans. (On a side note, I used regular refried beans. There is almost no fat in them anyway -- half a gram per serving. There is no calorie difference at all between fat free and regular refried beans. I didn't really see the point of making a low fat version.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
As a grad student who seldom eats fast food (a nutrition grad student, that is), I like this dish because of the flexibility it provides. I can freeze the whole batch and cook up these tasty burritos whenever I need dinner in a hurry! I drained the ground turkey before combining with the corn and onions; also, I used salsa to give the sauce a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymaria518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This was really good. We will make these again. I used a can of tomato sauce and a packet of taco seasoning to replace other sauce and seasonings. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Used ground beef. Can omit the refried beens. Heated tortillas in microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
My husband liked it, I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was truly delicious! I followed what the other reviewer (melissa)suggested with the tomato sauce, tomatoes w/peppers, salsa, and spices. I really enjoyed this and it is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These were a really great change from the normal chicken or beef burritos. I added a 4 oz can of diced green chiles to the corn, turkey mixture. I put everything into the tortilla, rolled them and then topped then with cheese. I baked them at 350 for about 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Turner Kopelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These burrito's were yummy! My husband thought they tasted as though from a restaurant. I found the hot tomato sauce, but chose not to use it. I wanted to have more control over my spices. For those of you who don't know where to find the hot tomato sauce, try the mexican foods aisle of your grocery store. I followed the advice of others, adding tomato sauce, diced tomatoes with chiles, chili powder, onion powder and ground cumin. I also added the refried beans directly to the meat mixture saving a step. This made so much I was able to freeze about half. Looking forward to eating it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States