Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I don't know if it is the 2 cans of hot tomato sauce or the warmed tortillas, but this recipe was just phenomenal! There are not even seasonings used here, but the burritos just have this incredibly full flavor - there is nothing missing! These burritos are so incredibly easy, and this is one recipe I will keep on hand to use regularly. The burritos are quite healthy, and the recipe uses nothing containing a lot of fat. Thanks to Gary for providing a fantastic recipe! Two hints: 1) To keep this recipe healthy when you make it, be sure to use skinless ground turkey, otherwise the skin is ground into the turkey and it contains extra fat; 2) If you are like me and are terrible at folding burritos, spread a little refried beans on the ends you are trying to fold - they act like a sticky paste to kee the burritos nicely folded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I expected these to be decent, but they were actually wonderful. My husband was also pleasantly surprised and asked me to make them again soon. I used Rotel tomatoes instead of the hot tomato sauce, only because I couldn't find it. I also wrapped the burritos, minus the sour cream, and placed them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 7-10 minutes. The tortillas got nice and crunchy and the cheese was melted into the meat and beans. I then topped them with the sour cream and served. We will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
WOW!! This recipe was really great!! My husband and I have been trying to eat healthy, and we love mexican style food so I thought this would be a great recipe to try. We used the 99% fat free ground turkey. Like alot of the other reviewers we could not find hot tomato sauce, so we replaced the two cans of hot tomato sauce with the following: (1) 8 oz. can of tomato sauce (1) 10oz. can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, 1/3 cup of medium salsa, 1 tablespoon of chili powder, 1/2 tablespoon of ground cumin, and 1/2 tablespoon of onion powder. The flavor was delicious! We will be making this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milissa Hewitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Excellent, but I added jalopenas to the mix. I bought fresh Jalopenas and fried them in olive oil, then draind the oil and mixed the peppers in with the meat. The longer you fry the peppers the less heat the remains. Also if you dont want them real hot take out the membranes and seeds and chose peppers without the skin beginning to crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
We also didn't have hot tomatoe sauce so we used regular, and some taco seasoning. And wheat tortillas. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These burrito's were yummy! My husband thought they tasted as though from a restaurant. I found the hot tomato sauce, but chose not to use it. I wanted to have more control over my spices. For those of you who don't know where to find the hot tomato sauce, try the mexican foods aisle of your grocery store. I followed the advice of others, adding tomato sauce, diced tomatoes with chiles, chili powder, onion powder and ground cumin. I also added the refried beans directly to the meat mixture saving a step. This made so much I was able to freeze about half. Looking forward to eating it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Needs some serious spicing up, but other than that, it is a great start. And a great, healthy way to use ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I followed the suggestions of someone else and substituted the following: 1- 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, 1/3 cup salsa, and 1 can of hot diced tomatoes with green chilis for the 2 cans of hot tomato sauce (b/c I couldn't find any at the market). I also added the following seasonings: 1 TBS of cumin, chili powder and onion powder. I also used whole wheat tortillas. I will make this recipe again! I love the low fat version by using turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
For the reviewer who stated that these were not authentic....who cares, they're delicious! As a matter of fact, cheddar cheese is the perfect option for me Gary and I thank you submitting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Loved it! It's easy to make. I used canned turkey from the pantry, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States