Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These burritos are awesome! I didn't chnge a thing about the recipe and they turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Really simple but really good. I like substituting turkey for ground beef in many recipes but its often a noticeable sacrifice. These burritos were a great exception. I did add some seasoning (cayenne, cumin and sp) and fresh garlic to be fair though. Still a great quick recipe that surprised me and my boyfriend. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These were ok. I left out the beans & added burrito seasoning, cumin, and chili powder. Toppings were cilantro and sliced avocado. Nothing out of this world, but a healthy simple dinner to make on a busy weeknight. Although, I love the hot tomato sauce & plan on implementing that into many more dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was good but didn't have the total flavor I was looking for (fam loved ti & wants to make again). I added some vegetarian refried beans to mixture for extra protein & give it more "stickiness"(kids have a hard time w/ holding it together). I used more onion that called for and added 1 can of black beans. I also added rice & green pepper to stretch it further b/c recipe won't feed a fam of 5 (the 3 kids have HS/adult appetites). Since it tasted blander for my taste (I dn have hot tomato sauce) - I added some taco seasoning, cumin & cayenne pepper. Overall good recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My husband has never wolfed down quite so quickly. I should mention that I added Penzey's Taco Seasoning (4 Tb per pound of meat) to this recipe, but followed everything else more or less. At another review's suggestion, I popped mine in the oven for 7-8 minutes at 350 once I had assembled the burritos, and the cheese got nice and melty, the tortilla got a bit crisp, and everything melded together perfectly. I would highly recommend this step for anyone with 10 extra minutes. Easy and filling, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
We enjoyed this one, we liked the taste of the meat mixture very well. I wasn't sure how the ground turkey would taste with the tomato sauce, but I was pleasantly surprised, it was great! I did add a little bit of cumin, but I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Thank you for posting this recipe, Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These were great! The only thing I did differently was bake these in the oven. After I rolled them, I put them on a baking sheet, brushed them with some vegetable oil lightly and sprinkled a little more cheese on top. Baked them at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. It made them a little more crispy :) P.S. These taste even better the next day nuked in the microwave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This recipe made my family realize that, yes, they do like ground turkey. I love the healthiness of the recipe, and the fact that it tastes so good is a bonus. I brown the turkey in the morning, put it in the slow cooker with the corn, sauce, a little cumin and garlic, and let it sit on low for about 6 hours. The flavors really come together and it's great for those busy nights when we can't all eat at the same time. The meat is ready whenever someone is ready to eat. Thanks for such a convenient, healthy, tasteful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Easy and YUMMY! Next time I will cut recipe in half, 6 serving was WAY too much! I sprinkled chili poweder on turkey while it was cooking and then cayenne into the meat mixture. I had a few burritos left over and had them for lunch....not as good but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
love this recipe. was looking for something different to make. Didn't have the veggies the first time i made it. But I did make some rice and added it to the burrito. It was so filling I couldn't finish my second one and I am a light eater. To spice it up, try Frank's Red Hot hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States