Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was excellent, but did do a few things different based on reviews and my own twist 1) cooked the turkey in peanut oil, splash of liquid smoke, worchester and soy sauce. 2) added 1 can of tomato sauce and about half to 3/4 a can of las palmas red chili sauce (med).. Also, added a small amount of mccormick taco seasoning. The meat came out perfect with a nice bite, but not too much. Next time will add some shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These are quick and easy. Tasty. Cheap. Healthy. They fit all my criteria for a 5-star meal. You can make 100 variations of these, too, by adding veggies to the turkey, using your tortilla preference, topping with any number of delicious add-ons or altering to no/low/full fat ingredients depending on your taste. The leftovers are awesome, too. I served with grilled red peppers and zucchini and roasted ears of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great burritos! My husband usually says he would add this or do that but this was one recipe he said he couldn't have made any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Another of those "I hate to rate after making changes" but wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed this and like it much better than another burrito recipe I had been using. I had an open can of creamed corn from another recipe that I used in this instead of regular corn, and could not initially find hot tomato sauce so I used enchilada sauce and tomatoes with chiles. Was worried that the filling was too thin, then I had a great idea to mix the refried beans in with the meat mix and it thickened it right up! Needed the full 20 mins to simmer, too. When all was said and done, the mix had a wonderful sweet/hot thing working that I really enjoyed! I'm sure the sweet was the creamed corn and I felt myself wanting more of that taste, but at the same time wanting more heat. All in all, very good. My teen son ate 4 of these using smaller tortillas when we ran out of bigger ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
For spicy tomato sauce, I use "El Pato" brand. In a little yellow can with a duck on the front. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Good healthy dish...kept feeling like it needed something more. I can say that my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
VERY good and filling. Took other's suggestion and added rice to the mix. Tossed them in the oven as well. Took the overflow and foiled/wrapped individually in the freezer (yet another great idea) for one of those nights - "What's for dinner??" Nice substantial meal at a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Alright. Needs a lot of spicing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this as listed, and ate one. It was good. I decided to finish the rest of them off in the oven, covered in shredded cheese, at 375* for 10 mins. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Nice quick, easy, tasty, dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daroyboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States