Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These burrito's were yummy! My husband thought they tasted as though from a restaurant. I found the hot tomato sauce, but chose not to use it. I wanted to have more control over my spices. For those of you who don't know where to find the hot tomato sauce, try the mexican foods aisle of your grocery store. I followed the advice of others, adding tomato sauce, diced tomatoes with chiles, chili powder, onion powder and ground cumin. I also added the refried beans directly to the meat mixture saving a step. This made so much I was able to freeze about half. Looking forward to eating it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was great...I did put them together and then under the broiler for toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Yum! Even the picky eater loved these. With El Pato sauce it was wildly spicy, in a good way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I will make this again to see if I can up the flavor. I used ground beef, because that's all I had. Used 1 can of regular tomato sauce and about 1/2 cup of salsa instead of the hot tomato sauce. And added about 1 tbsp Southwestern Seasoning. Will probably add more seasoning next time. Loved the corn flavor in the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
excellent...loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
It was outstanding with changes that I took from other reviewers: I used 1 can of tomato sauce, 1 can of diced tomatos with green chiles and 1/3 cup of medium salsa instead of two cans of hot tomato sauce. I used black beans instead of refried. I didn't warm the tortillas on the stove - I wrapped the burritos and then put them in the 350 oven for 7 minutes - they were perfect. I also added just under one tablespoon each of cumin and chili pepper, and used whole wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
For the reviewer who stated that these were not authentic....who cares, they're delicious! As a matter of fact, cheddar cheese is the perfect option for me Gary and I thank you submitting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I thought this was a yummy and very easy dish to prepare. I used premade enchilada sauce instead of the hot tomato sauce and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Very good! I season the turkey, use Del Monte canned tomatoes with mild chilies pepper, and fiesta blend shredded cheese. I've made this recipe several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel of the Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
We loved this recipe! I added taco seasoning to regular tomato sauce. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and baked the burritos in a 350 oven for about 10 minutes until they got crispy on the outside. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States