Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! We loved these burritos! I had to modify slightly because I couldn't find hot tomato sauce... used one can regular tomato sauce, one can Rotel, one can diced green chilis, and some chili powder. I also added cumin to the mixture. I took the advice of another reviewer and baked the burritos for about 5 minutes to make them nice and crispy. Very, very good... this is a 'make-again'. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was really good. It needed some spicing up and i follows some suggestions of the other users. Overall it was very filling and we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was simple and very tasty! We added a little bit of taco seasoning to it, but that's it. We served it on tortillas with black beans and rice and it tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purc0044

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has become a new favorite of mine! It is so simple and inexpensive to make, yet it produces a delicious, healthy meal. I didn't have to add any seasoning with the exception of my liking it spicy. I added a big squirt of my favorite chili sauce - Sriracha Chili Sauce - to spice it up. I have made this dish twice in the past two weeks, and froze some for later. Even with such great results as it is, this recipe can be altered to suit everyone's palate (add black beans, cilantro, etc.). I found the hot tomato sauce in the "Mexican" food section. The cans are small and the brand I bought was El Pato (yellow can). I highly recommend using this sauce, as I will now be using it in other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These are SO good! We adjusted a few things, added diced chiles to the turkey mixture, along with regular tomato sauce and then used hot sauce so we could control the temp. Also, I baked them for about 20 minutes at 350, then added a colby/monterey cheese mix for the last 5 minutes. Served with homeade guacamole, sr cream and salsa. All the boys loved it! Will be keeping this one, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I've made these several times now. The whole family loves them. We add a few Mexican spices to the turkey (not too much because we have a toddler). I really like the texture of the corn and refried beans. (On a side note, I used regular refried beans. There is almost no fat in them anyway -- half a gram per serving. There is no calorie difference at all between fat free and regular refried beans. I didn't really see the point of making a low fat version.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Amsden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
As a grad student who seldom eats fast food (a nutrition grad student, that is), I like this dish because of the flexibility it provides. I can freeze the whole batch and cook up these tasty burritos whenever I need dinner in a hurry! I drained the ground turkey before combining with the corn and onions; also, I used salsa to give the sauce a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymaria518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This was really good. We will make these again. I used a can of tomato sauce and a packet of taco seasoning to replace other sauce and seasonings. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Used ground beef. Can omit the refried beens. Heated tortillas in microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
My husband liked it, I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States