Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
We had these tonight and my son loved them. I did not use the hot tomato sauce since I was afraid it would be too spicy for my kids, 6 & 8 years. I used regular taco seasoning. That was a good choice because they ate them all. I did not use corn or sour cream, just used what I had on hand. My kids like their food more plain. Nonetheless, they were delicious and cheesy and we topped with lettuce & chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Made it with the following changes: 20 oz. ground turkey, 2 8oz. cans tomato sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can mild fire-roasted chilis, 1 T. chili powder, 1/2 T. cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
We added hot sauce to a bit more flavor. We also made extra and froze them for later! For freezing individually wrap each one in plastic wrap then put all burritos in a large plastic bag and freeze. To microwave unwrap one burrito and wrap in a paper towel and place on a plate. Cook for 4 min on 50% power, flip over and return to microwave at 50% for 2 addl minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Excellent recipe! I've made this turkey burrito three times in the past two months. .I have received rave reviews from family and friends. I did use two cans of rotel which boosts the hotness factor to just the right degree. Not too spicy but not too bland. If you want to bump up the flavor cook the tortilla shells in olive oil until they are perfectly browned then fill with all the toppings including sour cream and cheese. It's a true party in your mouth. A+ for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Made this with venison. Hot tomato sauce is not available where I live, so I used Rotel tomato sauce with green chiles. Absolutely fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gifford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
this was awesome. my BF LOVED it and so did i. i used one can of hot tomato sauce (very good and adds flavor but as with all sauces it does contain a lot of salt) and used chopped fresh tomatoes. we try to eat pretty clean so there was no cheese or sour cream. used frozen corn defrosted in cool water (makes no difference i think) whole wheat tortilla from trader joes (yum!) i made my own refried beans in the slow cooker the night before with the "refried beans without the fry" (very easy!) recipe from this website. i did add cumin and chili powder and onion powder per recommendsations of others. thanks for the simple recipe it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaquelynny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Everyone in my family loved this recipe! I followed the recipe almost exactly but I assembled it differently because I was short on time. I used one can of Rotel hot tomato sauce and one jar of salsa because it was in my fridge needing to be used and I wasn't sure how my kids would react to the heat of the hot tomato sauce. While the turkey and onion were browning, I divided the can of refried beans among 8 8-inch burritos to help them stick when I rolled them. I added the corn to the turkey & onion mixture and spooned it on the burritos. I then heated up the tomato sauce and salsa and poured it over top of the burritos. I baked it at 350 for about 7 minutes. I'm not sure I would do it this way again as the burritos were soft, not crispy but I did not want to take the time for the tomato sauce mixture to thicken because my kids were hungry NOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very good recipe! I left out the sour cream and I actually found mild tomato sauce at the store and it worked great. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was excellent, but did do a few things different based on reviews and my own twist 1) cooked the turkey in peanut oil, splash of liquid smoke, worchester and soy sauce. 2) added 1 can of tomato sauce and about half to 3/4 a can of las palmas red chili sauce (med).. Also, added a small amount of mccormick taco seasoning. The meat came out perfect with a nice bite, but not too much. Next time will add some shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These are quick and easy. Tasty. Cheap. Healthy. They fit all my criteria for a 5-star meal. You can make 100 variations of these, too, by adding veggies to the turkey, using your tortilla preference, topping with any number of delicious add-ons or altering to no/low/full fat ingredients depending on your taste. The leftovers are awesome, too. I served with grilled red peppers and zucchini and roasted ears of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States