Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made these as stated and then with some changes. they are very good with some artichoke heart added and topped with shreaded parmesan. Don't use all the butter as many have stated, not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe that I tweaked because of the amount of butter. I used lo-fat cream cheese, one cup of Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix prepared with butter and water, added the spices but also Montreal Steak Seasoning in lieu of the red pepper, then added only about 1+ tablespoon of butter on top dripping it over the mushrooms with a teaspoon. For moisture on the bottom I added a half cup of white wine. They were wonderful. Two cups of butter sounds over-the-top regardless of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was an awesome recipes. I LOVE mushrooms so I was so excited to try it. Like most reviewers, I halfed almost everything but still had enough stuffing for 3 times as many mushrooms. I used probably half a stick of butter. A quarter for drizzling on too of the mushrooms, and a quarter in the chicken stuffing mixture. I also used real crab, from a can. And I poured dry wine into the bottom of the oven pan with the butter. Baked for about 16 minutes. It tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
First try and it was great. A little tweaking is in order though. 2 cups butter is a waist. 1/4 cup will be plenty to drizzle with. Half the stuffing or double the crab and fill 24 caps. Love it, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paducahshane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I have been making a similar recipe for years, only without the cream cheese or fresh garlic. The other reviewers are right- there is no need for all that extra butter. I did find the cream cheese an interesting addition, but it makes the final product mushier. So it depends on your taste. I think next time I would use 1/2 or 3/4 only of the cream cheese amount. One big tip- use a combination of crab. I go a little light on the liquid for the stuffing. When it's done with the five minute rest, add a can of white crab meat with all of the liquid from the can. Then add 1/2 pkg of chopped imitation crab (which is real fish). This adds the texture and color of fresh, lump crab without paying 16.00 a pound. You are already adding garlic powder to taste, there is no need to sauté garlic adding butter. Add your other ingredients and top with quality parmesan and it's great. This stuffs about 3 packages of baby bella mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great but called for way too much butter! A few tablespoons is plenty....more is not always better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
These mushrooms are delicious! I did make a few adjustments. First, I cut the butter in half and will probably cut in half again. Like others, I sauteed the mushroom stems in with th butter and garlic. I then added the cream cheese in with the butter mixture. It melted nicely. Overall, a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Doubled the recipe. It the only items I doubled were the mushrooms, crab and garlic. I had the perfect amount of filling. I placed them in a metal pan and baked half way without the butter. I froze them for a week. Once I was ready to bake again I drizzled the butter only 1/4 C and garlic over them. Showstopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Tasted like stuffing and cream cheese.Definitely needs lots of tweaking and less butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
They were delicious, but I don't see the need for 2 cups of butter. We didn't use all 2 cups of butter. Next time, we're going to go with 3 or 4 tbsps. instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States