Garlicky, Spicy and Sesamey Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I cut the sesame seeds back by half and added a sprinkling of red pepper flake, other than that I made no changes. Very good. No leftovers. I served this with brown rice and Budget Bytes Honey Sriracha Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Loved it. Added a little extra sesame oil. Only used 1/4 cup soy sauce and added 1/8 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Easy to make and just delicious. Loved the sesame twist. Just a great dish, My husband even enjoyed it so that's a big plus for vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Family liked this for a change of taste. I used about 1/4 of the amount of sesame seeds in the recipe; don't dump them in all at once, sprinkle until you have what you want. I didn't have regular sesame oil, mine was chili sesame oil, so there was a little heat to them, but not too much. Seems a little work intensive first time you make it, but really is a pretty simple dish. I gave 4 stars partly because of the huge amount of sesame seeds just didn't seem right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Easy and a great base! I don't keep sesame seeds at my house so that was the only one left out, otherwise, followed the rest. The title says spicy but where is the spicy ingredient? Will be using chili oil for the next round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
i used a little sweet onion since i didnt have shallots and black sesame seeds. no leftovers. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I like the method, but there wasn't enough flavor for me. It's missing something, despite all those sesame seeds (which I found to be too much). I will add teriyaki sauce or honey or something in the future. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Really quick and easy side dish! I would add some red peper flakes to this for an added kick. I can't really have sesame seeds but the sesame oil added the flavor so it was all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This has been my favorite Asian-style green beans yet. I've tried some higher-rated ones and wasn't impressed. This will be my new method, with the addition of Sriracha. For the record, I subbed (liberally) soy sauce for the salt in this recipe, and that probably made a big difference. Be sure to take a paper towel or clean kitchen towel to your freshly-drained green beans BEFORE adding them to your hot oil, or you'll throw grease splash-back onto yourself. Drying them also helps them to blister and brown like they're supposed to (instead of steam and mush, like they are not supposed to). I wish the instructions included that step, because it's a standard cautionary procedure (never add water to hot oil, etc.) but I don't fault the recipe for that. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I love this recipe, but I add wax beans to the green beans to give more color. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States