Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Mmm, I just made this and really enjoyed it. I agree with the other reviewer who used less olive oil. Recipe calls for 3 tbsp, which I used, but 1 or 2 tbsp would have been plenty. I cooked the broccoli for a couple minutes first and also added spinach - both modifications worked out fine. Recipe makes enough for 3 large side portions, or 4 medium-size sides. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great flavor as is. I used beef stock, fresh garlic to cook the quinoa; After fluffing the cooked quinoa, I added 1 lime juice and chopped red onions for extra brightness. Definitely a 5 star recipe after the enhancements. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was delicious! Only changes were to cook the quinoa in homemade vegetable stock and I blanched the broccoli slightly (tossed some in with the quinoa for maybe the last five minutes of cooking time). I'm not even a big tarragon fan, but the flavor of the tarragon, garlic, lemon and mustard blend together perfectly in this dish. I actually had some of this while still warm and it would make a fabulous side dish or light meal, as well as a salad! Thank you jjane123! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I LOVE this dish. Yes, you can cut down the olive oil - 1 1/2 T is great. Did try out carrots and dill once when I was out of broccoli and tarragon - not that great - stick to the original recipe. Oh, and I do not normally eat broccoli but great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ScandoGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
100 percent easy and delicious! I made this by first cooking dry garbanzo beans, then followed the prep steps. I recommend blanching or steaming the broccoli a few minutes to ensure it's tender. I also mixed in 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese for some tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have to admit I was a little scared of how much mustard was going into this, but it turned out perfectly! Make sure you use coarse-ground mustard! I chopped the broccoli into tiny pieces (about dime-sized) and I threw it into the cooking quinoa for the last 3 minutes so it would soften slightly and get a nice bright green color. I also used about 1.5-2 cups of broccoli because 3/4 cup just wasn't enough. While the quinoa was cooking, I whisked the rest of the ingredients (minus the beans) together in a bowl. Once the quinoa and broccoli was cooked, I tossed in the beans and "dressing", and voila! Perfection! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was so amazing! I made it as a side dish and my 5 and 3 year old each ate an entire bowl.... I had to make a second batch! I will be holding on to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good. I also cut the olive oil in half and added some feta when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Quinoa is excellent because it is a complete vegetable protein. (one of the very few that has a balanced set of amino acids) My only advice is to find a source for your quinoa that is decently priced. I'm sure the price turns a lot of people off to this wonderful grain (I've found it for as much as $4.80 for an 8 oz. box in the grocery store!!). At our local co-op it's only $1.60/lb in bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I modified this by using millet instead of quinoa and sprouted garbanzo beans instead of the canned variety. This is a great tasting salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States