Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Mmm, I just made this and really enjoyed it. I agree with the other reviewer who used less olive oil. Recipe calls for 3 tbsp, which I used, but 1 or 2 tbsp would have been plenty. I cooked the broccoli for a couple minutes first and also added spinach - both modifications worked out fine. Recipe makes enough for 3 large side portions, or 4 medium-size sides. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great flavor as is. I used beef stock, fresh garlic to cook the quinoa; After fluffing the cooked quinoa, I added 1 lime juice and chopped red onions for extra brightness. Definitely a 5 star recipe after the enhancements. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was delicious! Only changes were to cook the quinoa in homemade vegetable stock and I blanched the broccoli slightly (tossed some in with the quinoa for maybe the last five minutes of cooking time). I'm not even a big tarragon fan, but the flavor of the tarragon, garlic, lemon and mustard blend together perfectly in this dish. I actually had some of this while still warm and it would make a fabulous side dish or light meal, as well as a salad! Thank you jjane123! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I LOVE this dish. Yes, you can cut down the olive oil - 1 1/2 T is great. Did try out carrots and dill once when I was out of broccoli and tarragon - not that great - stick to the original recipe. Oh, and I do not normally eat broccoli but great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ScandoGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
100 percent easy and delicious! I made this by first cooking dry garbanzo beans, then followed the prep steps. I recommend blanching or steaming the broccoli a few minutes to ensure it's tender. I also mixed in 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese for some tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was so amazing! I made it as a side dish and my 5 and 3 year old each ate an entire bowl.... I had to make a second batch! I will be holding on to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good. I also cut the olive oil in half and added some feta when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I modified this by using millet instead of quinoa and sprouted garbanzo beans instead of the canned variety. This is a great tasting salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Quinoa is excellent because it is a complete vegetable protein. (one of the very few that has a balanced set of amino acids) My only advice is to find a source for your quinoa that is decently priced. I'm sure the price turns a lot of people off to this wonderful grain (I've found it for as much as $4.80 for an 8 oz. box in the grocery store!!). At our local co-op it's only $1.60/lb in bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have to admit I was a little scared of how much mustard was going into this, but it turned out perfectly! Make sure you use coarse-ground mustard! I chopped the broccoli into tiny pieces (about dime-sized) and I threw it into the cooking quinoa for the last 3 minutes so it would soften slightly and get a nice bright green color. I also used about 1.5-2 cups of broccoli because 3/4 cup just wasn't enough. While the quinoa was cooking, I whisked the rest of the ingredients (minus the beans) together in a bowl. Once the quinoa and broccoli was cooked, I tossed in the beans and "dressing", and voila! Perfection! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States