Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The first time I made this I didn't have ground mustard and used dijon - big mistake. Gross. I wanted SO BADLY to like this dish. 2nd time I made it with the changes that other users said to, less olive oil ( glad I did or else it would have been swimming in it) and blanched broccoli (again glad I did as I liked my broccoli slightly cooked and dislike raw). It was a bit better but not much. I don't know if it is the tarragon or the mustard but the flavor was just not something I could handle. So sad because I've wasted 2 recipe's worth of food trying to make this dish. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Yummy. Didn't change anything. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was a simple, quick, tasty and healthy recipe. It wasn't an OMG thing, but definitely something I will keep handy for a quick meal. From reading it, I was worried that it would be a little bland, so I sauteed about 1/4 cup each chopped onion and green pepper, then added the quinoa and water along with a bouillon cube. Once it was done, I still found it bland, so I added some cumin and smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Doubled the recipe as the original amount didn't seem to make very much. However, only used half the amount of olive oil and it seemed to be fine. A terrific salad as it was very healthy, easy to make, and inexpensive. Would love to try it another time with feta cheese and maybe slivered almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this recipe with some modifications and it was delicious. I used sauteed cauliflower and red peppers rather than broccoli. I used beef stock to make the quinoa. I also used sage, rosemary, and thyme because we didn't have tarragon!!!...It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
A bit bland for my taste. I cooked the quinoa in water but when I found the whole dish bland I sprinkled 1/2 a pack of low sodium chicken stock powder which helped some. I would make again but add a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a good healthy meal. The mustard and tarragon lend the quinoa a slightly warmer taste than other quinoa recipes that use tomato and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I decided to make this into a hot entree. I used 4 garlic cloves, half an onion, sauteed them up and threw in steamed broccoli and red peppers with the quinoa and chickpeas. The tarragon, lemon juice and dijon mustard complemented the entire dish beautifully. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Good, easy, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
If you chop the broccoli small you don't have to parboil, but if you like bigger pieces, I would parboil. I love this recipe and could make it daily! I add 2 shakes of curry powder when I cook quinoa. Also, I like to add some chopped tomatoes and I take advantage of fresh tarragon from the garden. I really like the dressing of only olive oil, lemon and mustard. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States