Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
My family loved this--it's simple, healthy, and filling! Next time I'll add more vegetables, such as carrots or red bell pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this as written, and did not care for it. I couldn't figure out what it was that I didn't like. Maybe the tarragon? It just seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I'm a big fan of quinoa and I really like garbanzo beans, but I have to agree with a few of the others - this recipe was a bit bland. I ended up adding some cumin to help lift the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Good base recipe. I added a bit of oregano instead of tarragon, extra lemon juice, some smoked paprika, and a little kale and chard to make it more filling. I could stand more mustard as well, but it's a pretty tasty, light main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was my first time trying quinoa and i absolutely loved this dish. I added just a little more mustard for extra tang. It was even better the next day. It was so good i made it again 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
We loved it. Very different. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very easy to make, great tasting and healthy - what more could you ask for?! I subbed 2 tsp of Dijon mustard for the coarse grain and used 2 i/o 3 tbsp of olive oil. Also, after reading other reviewers' comments that this dish came out too bland, I used half a veggie cube to cook the quinoa. With these changes the flavor is subtle, but very noticeable, especially the fresh garlic, lemon juice and Dijon. I also like to mix red and white quinoa for a more striking presentation/enhanced flavor. One note on the serving size, in my experience this makes 2-3 portions (or 4 very small portions), so if this is your main side or your main course, you might want to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The first time I made this I didn't have ground mustard and used dijon - big mistake. Gross. I wanted SO BADLY to like this dish. 2nd time I made it with the changes that other users said to, less olive oil ( glad I did or else it would have been swimming in it) and blanched broccoli (again glad I did as I liked my broccoli slightly cooked and dislike raw). It was a bit better but not much. I don't know if it is the tarragon or the mustard but the flavor was just not something I could handle. So sad because I've wasted 2 recipe's worth of food trying to make this dish. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Yummy. Didn't change anything. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was a simple, quick, tasty and healthy recipe. It wasn't an OMG thing, but definitely something I will keep handy for a quick meal. From reading it, I was worried that it would be a little bland, so I sauteed about 1/4 cup each chopped onion and green pepper, then added the quinoa and water along with a bouillon cube. Once it was done, I still found it bland, so I added some cumin and smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States